Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology

Subject Description

Sociology is the study of social life, social change, and the social causes and consequences of human behavior. Sociologists investigate the structure of groups, organizations, and societies and how people interact within these contexts. Since all human behavior is social, the subject matter of sociology ranges from the intimate family to the hostile mob; from organized crime to religious traditions; from the divisions of race, gender and social class to the shared beliefs of a common culture. (21st Century Careers with an Undergraduate Degree in Sociology, 2014)

Start Here

Key Resources

The links below will take you to "core" databases. You can find more information related to sociological studies by exploring other Sociology KEY DATABASES.  

Next Steps

Additional Resources to Explore

Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts

Indexing and abstracting database covering health, social service, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relation and education.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Searchable by broad subject category or keyword. Most files are freely available to download and is an itegral part of the infrastructure of social science research. In order to download data, first-time UAlbany users must create a MyData account from a UAlbany computer. Once you have created an account that identifies you with UAlbany, you may access ICPSR data from off-campus and social media accounts.

PolicyMap

PolicyMap is a fully web-based Geographic Information System (GIS) and mapping product. Data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates. A complete list of GIS data available can be found in their data directory.

Sage Research Methods

Sage Research Methods provides a comprehensive array of resources related to quantitative and qualitative social science research methodologies. Included in this database are reference materials, journal articles, books, handbooks, and video which describe and explain social science research methods.