"It is the object of administrative study to discover, first, what government can properly and successfully do, and, secondly, how it can do these proper things with the utmost possible efficiency and at the least possible cost either of money or of energy," Woodrow Wilson (1887).
These are the top resources used by researchers in this discipline:
PAIS International provides references to books, journal articles, government documents, and privately published research reports on almost any topic that has a public affairs dimension. It is international in coverage. Coverage begins with 1972 but the PAIS Archive extends coverage back to 1915.
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Searchable by broad subject category or keyword. Most files are freely available to download and is an itegral part of the infrastructure of social science research. In order to download data, first-time UAlbany users must create a MyData account from a UAlbany computer. Once you have created an account that identifies you with UAlbany, you may access ICPSR data from off-campus and social media accounts.
PolicyMap is a fully web-based Geographic Information System (GIS) and mapping product. Data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates. A complete list of GIS data available can be found in their data directory.
SocialExplorer is award winning demographic data visualization and research website designed to engage users through dynamic maps and customizable reports. From research libraries to classrooms to government agencies to corporations to the front page of the New York Times, SocialExplorer helps the public engage with society and science. Creating an account is optional. To continue without being able to save and share projects, click "Use as a guest". Please see a reference librarian for any questions.