Librarian in Training
Tricia Domago
Librarian in Training
(and mom of current high school student)
Getting Started: Planning Your Future
Planning for life after high school can feel exciting and overwhelming. Whether you are exploring college, considering a trade or apprenticeship, preparing for standardized tests, or simply trying to figure out what career path fits your interests, the amount of information available can make it hard to know where to start. This guide is designed to help high school students and their families navigate those choices with confidence. Here, you will find clear explanations of key concepts such as college types, career pathways, financial aid, and the skills needed for successful applications. You will also discover reliable resources for researching majors, comparing schools, preparing for the SAT or ACT, building strong resumes, and learning about future job opportunities.
How to Use This Guide
This guide is written specifically for high school students, and the parents or guardians supporting them, as they plan for the next steps in their educational or career journey. By highlighting trusted tools and offering practical search strategies, this guide will save you time, help you make informed decisions, and provide a solid foundation for your future. Whether you are just beginning to explore options or preparing applications, this is your starting point for college and career readiness.
Start Here:
This TEDx Talk by Nicole Furst Koonce is a great starting point if you are unsure what comes after high school. She explains that your future is not just about choosing “college or career,” but about discovering what truly matters to you and building a path that fits your interests and goals. Nicole shares practical advice for exploring opportunities, thinking about your strengths, and making thoughtful decisions about your next steps. The talk encourages students to take ownership of their journey and consider all the options available, including work, education, or alternative pathways. With an uplifting and motivating approach, it helps shift your mindset from feeling pressured to having a plan. It’s a helpful resource for anyone beginning to map out life after high school.
General Resources
-
Opposing Viewpoints In ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context is a database that presents a wide range of perspectives on important social, political, and cultural issues. Students can explore articles, essays, and reports that cover multiple sides of a topic, helping them think critically and form their own opinions. It’s especially useful for researching debates, writing papers, or preparing for discussions. The database includes credible sources from magazines, newspapers, academic journals, and primary documents, so you can trust the information you find. By examining different viewpoints, students learn to weigh evidence, understand bias, and develop stronger arguments. It’s an essential resource for anyone wanting to dive deeper into controversial or complex topics.When to use this: When you are researching both sides of an issue, such as to take a gap year or not.
-
ERIC (via ProQuest)ERIC is a comprehensive, authoritative database for education research and information. It includes journal articles, research reports, conference papers, and policy documents on topics like teaching strategies, learning skills, and college readiness. Students and educators can use ERIC to explore evidence-based practices, understand trends in education, and find strategies for academic and personal success. The database is a trusted source for research-backed information, making it ideal for projects, essays, or planning your next steps after high school. With thousands of resources covering multiple educational levels and subjects, ERIC helps students and teachers access credible knowledge quickly. It is a valuable tool for anyone wanting to deepen their understanding of education and career preparation.
-
Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete is a powerful database full of authoritative articles on careers, industries, and the skills you need for both college and the workplace. Students can explore detailed information about different careers, industry trends, and professional skills that employers look for. The database includes scholarly journals, trade publications, and professional magazines, making it a reliable source for research and planning. It also helps students understand workplace expectations, salary ranges, and educational pathways for various fields. Whether you are exploring potential careers or preparing for postsecondary education, Business Source Complete provides credible, up-to-date information to guide your decisions. It is a great tool for students who want to connect what they are learning in school to real-world opportunities.
-
Education SourceEducation Source is a comprehensive database with trusted articles on schools, learning strategies, and careers in education. Students can explore information about teaching careers, college programs, and skills needed for success in school and beyond. The database includes scholarly journals, professional magazines, and full-text reports, providing reliable research and practical guidance. It’s especially useful for learning about educational trends, instructional strategies, and career pathways in teaching and related fields. Whether you’re considering a career in education or want to understand how to succeed academically, Education Source offers credible, research-backed information. This resource helps students make informed choices about their learning and career goals.
-
Preparing Students for College and Careers
by
ISBN: 9781317221623Publication Date: 2017-08-22Preparing Students for College and Careers looks at how schools and researchers are trying to make sure students are ready for life after high school. It explores big-picture efforts like creating new standards, redesigning assessments, and shaping college policies, all aimed at helping students succeed in college and careers. The book also points out the gaps between the skills students graduate with and what employers actually need. Experts from across the field share research, best practices, and practical interventions, including how assessments and performance levels are designed and used. This book is a helpful resource for anyone curious about how we measure and improve college and career readiness. The Open Access version is available online, so it is easy to check out and learn from.
