Librarian in Training
A.J. Furfaro - Martinez
Welcome to my LibGuide!
As a former comic shop worker and full time comic book and graphic novel nerd, I wanted to be able to compile many different resources regarding Graphic Novels as literature. Many teachers and library patrons would like to integrate these into their courses, or reading habits, but often times do not know where to start. My goal with this LibGuide is to expose more people, such as educators, librarians, and young adults to different types of graphic novels, and scholarly resources related to Graphic Novels as an art form, as well. Happy browsing!
CONTACT ME:
afurfaro@albany.edu
Graphic Novels 101
What is a Graphic Novel? ( From World Literature Today, 2007)
The term "Graphic Novel" can be used to describe a specific format of book, "for example, a bound book of comics either in soft- or hardcover--in contrast to the old-fashioned stapled comic magazine." It also can indicate "comic-book narrative that is equivalent in form and dimensions to the prose novel."
Davis, J. (2007, January-February). How to Build Your Graphic Novels Section. ForeWord. https://link-gale
com.libproxy.albany.edu/apps/doc/A163247664/AONE?u=albanyu&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=edb1ebfd
This article provides insight on how to build a graphic novel section into your library. Initially, it discusses some common misconceptions about the genre of graphic novels, and then provides some helpful tips to consider when curating your classroom library, or adding to your existing library collection. Building a graphic novel section requires you to have background knowledge about the medium as well as your intended audience, so both of these should be considered in the process. The consideration of the audience is one of the most important things to me as well, so I found this to be a very helpful article to reference.
Rudiger, H. M., & Schliesman, M. (2007). Graphic novels and school libraries. Knowledge Quest, 36(2), 57+. https://link-
gale.com.libproxy.albany.edu/apps/doc/A174062680/AONE?u=albanyu&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=bb010fdd
This Knowledge Quest article provides a background for those who are new to the genre. They describe graphic novels as "book-length comics", and further note that these can be "works of fiction or nonfiction, and their content parallels the wide range of literature that librarians already collect in other forms, including biographies, poetry, and novels." The article also describes the need and value in creating a development policy to continue to hone this genre within your own library or classroom, as well as different considerations for cataloging and shelving. There are also details on how to continue promoting Graphic Novels as educational and leisurely reading tools for young readers, as well as further educating others who may challenge the genre due to lack of information on the subject area. This is a great resource for those looking to get background information on the genre as a whole.
|
|
|||||
|
|
Tabachnick, S. E. (2017). The cambridge companion to the graphic novel. Cambridge University Press. This text discusses the evolution of the graphic novel genre, as well as sub-genres included. Various scholarly articles are included within this text, which analyze award winning and notable works of the genre. This book discusses international graphic novels, rather than just American graphic novels, which is a significant thing to note depending on what type of graphic novels you're looking for. However, this source is hailed by many reviewers as a must have text for graduate and undergraduate students alike. |
|||||
|
|
Gardner's text is described as " a history of the modern sequential comic form from the late nineteenth century through today, focusing on the unique ways in which it tells stories". Gardner himself is a proponent of the graphic novel medium, and describes how readers take an active part in the storytelling that takes place within the sequential art form. This book journeys through time from 1889 with the genesis of the art form of storytelling, all the way up to the present day with films and the future of storytelling as it relates to the graphic novel medium. I find this one fascinating and recommend it for anyone looking to get a bit of background on the American graphic novel. |
|||||
| Booker. (2010). Encyclopedia of comic books and graphic novels. Greenwood Press. Booker's text is said to be the "most comprehensive reference ever compiled about the rich and enduring genre of comic books and graphic novels, from their emergence in the 1930s to their late-century breakout into the mainstream." The genre has obviously expanded greatly since 2010, when this was first published, but it gives amazing background information on various influential writers and artists who brought the genre to prominence, as well as a list of bibliographic resources at the end of each chapter for further reading. |
Want More Graphic Novels?
Here are some more resources you can use to dive deeper into this amazing genre. Try searching some key terms in the databases below, or any other database you feel comfortable using.
| Keywords/Search Terms: | Databases and Journals: |
| Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comic Books, Golden Age, Silver Age, Bronze Age |
|