LibGuides: Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies: Featured and New Resources

Archives of Sexuality & Gender 1: LGBTQ History Since 1940 I & 2

Online, full-text access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Global in scope, Part I: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 features historical documents published in more than 35 countries, with over 15 languages represented. Themes covered include: Gay & LGBT Alliances, History of HIV & Aids, LGBT History, LGBTQ Rights Movement Documents are sourced from top libraries and archives, including:GLBT Historical Society, New York Public Library Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation, Inc., the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives and the National Library of Medicine (United States).ritish Library of Political and Economic Science at the London School of Economics Women's Energy Bank and others.

Coverage:

Primary sources from 1940 to date

Updated:

N/A

Fulltext:

Yes

Access limitations:

No limitation on concurrent users

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II

Primary sources documenting Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgendered people's history. Fully searchable periodicals, newsletters, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, an international selection of posters, and other primary source LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II provides coverage of underrepresented communities. Part II series highlights often-excluded groups—even within the LGBTQ community—and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism.

Women's Studies Archives (primary sources)
The Women's Studies Archive documents the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives, offering resources pertaining to the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. The Women's Issues and Identities sub-collection focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century, drawing on primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. The Voice and Vision sub-collection contains a vast range of primary sources from 1780 to 2000, spanning multiple geographic regions, providing an abundance of perspectives on women's experiences and impact on society around the world. Of particular importance are the materials that focus solely on female authors or magazines and journals produced by women, not simply for women.
Women's Transnational Networks: Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Issues of gender and class ignited nineteenth-century debate in the context of suffrage movements, culture, immigration, health and many other concerns. Using a wide array of primary source documents—serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals—Women and Transnational Networks focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection contains deep information on European and North American movements, but also expands its scope to include collections from other regions.
more...less...
Researchers and scholars will find rare content related to:

Social reform movements and groups
High and popular culture
Literature and the arts
Immigration
Daily life
Religion
Fannie Lou Hamer, 1917-1977 : papers, 1966-1978. Hamer, Fannie Lou.; Amistad Research Center 1985
Available , University Library Microfilm E 185.97 H35 A2 1985
(from reel:1 until:GUIDE)
Digital Version on order

Featured Resources

Harriet Tubman Bicentennial Project - Resources
Black Women's Suffrage Digital Project
Teaching with Toni Morrison
From the WEARETEACHERS website
Fannie Lou Hamer Papers
more...less...
17 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. + 1 guide (21 pages, 28 cm)
Contents
Reel 1. Correspondence, 1967-1968 to Programs. -- Reel 2. Programs to Correspondence, 1967-1969. -- Reel 3. Correspondence, n.d. to Voter registration. -- Reel 4. Voter registration to Correspondence, 1975-1978. -- Reel 5. Correspondence, [1978] to Financial statements, Oct.-Dec. 1971. -- Reel 6. Financial statements, Jan.-Feb. 1972 to Cancelled checks, 1974-1976. -- Reel 7. Receipts, 1969 to Check receipts, 1971. -- Reel. 8. Check receipts, 1972 to Check stubs, 1972-1975. -- Reel. 9. Check receipts, 1971-1972 to Contributors Bac-Bell, 1969. -- Reel 10. Contributors Beng-Boy, 1969 to Returned contribution envelopes. -- Reel 11. Returned contribution envelopes to Corporation minutes, 1969-1970. -- Reel 12. Corporation minutes, 1971 to Day care employment applications. -- Reel 13. Day care employee records, A-F to NAACP membership cards. -- Reel 14. Correspondence, 1967 to Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights. -- Reel. 15. MLK Center to Collected letters. -- Reel 16. Collected newsletters to Newspapers. -- Reel 17. Newspapers. -- Guide.
Subject
Hamer, Fannie Lou
African American women
Civil rights workers -- Mississippi
Civil rights workers -- United States
Genre
Biography.
Contributor
Amistad Research Center

Deborah LaFond

Email Me

Contact:

University Library
LI 205
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222

(518)442-3599

Subjects: Africana - African American Studies, Africana - African Studies, Educational and Counseling Psychology, Psychology, Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies