Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News and newspapers
Newspapers - UAlbany subscribes to current and historical newspaper databases. For example, you can find information about historical (1850s) events in the New York Times and they may be considered primary sources since they were written in the time period in which the, e.g., event took place.
News media - Although there are sources for historical interviews and other news programs, the Internet is one source for current topics using the news sites described on this page.
Selected newspapers in databases
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Gannett Newsstand Complete
Includes some New York papers.
Major U.S. regional, national, and local as well as leading titles from around the world.
Databases for news, law, business, biography, medicine, and reference.
National Newspaper Index
Index to the Christian Science Monitor (1979+), Los Angeles Times (1982+), New York Times (1979+), Wall Street Journal (1979+) and Washington Post (1977+)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Many start coverage in the 1800's
US Newspaper Directory, 1690-present
Over 150,000 titles. Select state, county, or city.
What is an RSS feed?
According to the Encyclopedia Britannica, RSS is "a format used to provide subscribers with new content from frequently updated Web sites." The news feeds on this page update automatically with new, published content.
Education news from The Chronicle of Higher Education
Education news from Inside Higher Ed
New York Times education news feed
Academic freedom headlines from the New York Times