Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Patents: U.S. Databases

This guide provides information on searching for U.S. and non-U.S. patents.

U.S. Databases

FreePatentsOnline

This Web site offers a fully searchable patents database as well as free access to the full text of the patents from U.S. patent 4,000,000 forward. The patent images are available in PDF and TIFF formats.

FreshPatents.com

Each week FreshPatents.com lists the latest published U.S. patent applications under review by the USPTO. Innovative services include keyword monitoring, RSS/XML feeds, and browsing by location. This service is free, but registration is required.

Google Patents

Google Patents covers patents and patent applications from 17 patent offices, including the U.S. (back to 1790), European, China, Japan, Korea, WIPO, Germany, Russia, U.K., and France.  

Pat2PDF

Enter a U.S. patent number and Pat2PDF will generate a free copy of the patent in PDF format.

SciFinder. Accessible to University at Albany users only
This is the Web version of Chemical Abstracts, and includes the CAplus database, the CAS Registry file, and Medline. Containg information back to 1907, it includes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations, as well as chemical substance and reaction information. Users may search by search by author, subject, chemical name, registry number, or chemical structure.  SciFinder is available to University at Albany faculty, students, and staff, but REGISTRATION IS REQUIREDSciFinder registration instructions.
USPTO Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases

This site provides access to the U.S. Patent Full-Text Database (a database of issued patents, full-text since 1976, full-page images since 1790) and the Patent Applications Database (a database of patent application published since March 15, 2001).

WikiPatents

WikiPatents is a free U.S. patent database beginning with patent 3,930,271, and running through the most recent patents and patent applications. It includes a basic patent number search as well as an advanced search mode. In addition to providing both HTML and PDF versions of patents, WikiPatents features a wiki-like interface to review, rate, and discuss patents. Registration is required to access PDFs and use the wiki-like features.

 

Subject Guide