LibGuides: IST 605: College & Career Readiness: Trade Schools, Military & Alternative Options

Your Future, Your Way

Not every student takes the same path after high school, and there are plenty of exciting options to explore. This page highlights career-focused alternatives like trade and technical schools, apprenticeships, military service, and other programs that can lead to rewarding careers. You’ll find reliable information on requirements, training, and next steps to help you make the choice that fits your goals and interests.

Alternative Paths

Trades Education Must Evolve to Keep Pace With Industry Changes: Enrollment in trades courses increased 19.3% from 2021 to 2022.
Trade courses are booming, with enrollment jumping 19.3% from 2021 to 2022! This article explores how trade programs are evolving to keep up with fast-changing industries and equip students with the skills needed for real-world, in-demand careers. It highlights ways programs are integrating new technologies, hands-on learning, and industry certifications to prepare students for success. If you are curious about careers that combine practical skills with solid paychecks, trade education offers exciting pathways beyond traditional college. The article also emphasizes how these programs help students develop problem-solving, teamwork, and technical skills that employers are looking for. It is a must-read for anyone considering alternative pathways to rewarding careers.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is a trusted source for information about careers, wages, and employment trends in the United States. Students can explore detailed data on job duties, salary ranges, education requirements, and future job growth for hundreds of occupations. The BLS also provides reports and tools to help students compare careers and plan their education and training paths. It is a reliable resource for anyone looking to make informed decisions about college, trade programs, or entering the workforce.
'College doesn't carry the same ROI it once did': 70% of teens say their parents support them going to trade school or getting an apprenticeship
This article in Business Source Complete explores why more students are considering alternatives to a traditional four-year college. Rising tuition costs and the uncertain return on investment are making trade schools and apprenticeships increasingly attractive. The article reports that 70% of teens say their parents support exploring these paths, reflecting a shift in attitudes toward non-degree career options. Trade programs provide hands-on training, industry certifications, and faster entry into the workforce, often in high-demand fields with strong earning potential. By highlighting the benefits of skilled trades, the article encourages students to consider a wider range of post-high school pathways. It is a useful resource for anyone weighing college against alternative routes to a rewarding career.

Today's Military (U.S. Department of Defense)
Today’s Military is an official U.S. Department of Defense resource that provides reliable, easy-to-understand information about all branches of the military. It covers career paths, training, pay, lifestyle, and education benefits, without the pressure of a recruitment site. Students can explore what service looks like day-to-day, compare options like active duty, reserves, and ROTC, and learn what to expect before making a decision. It is a trustworthy place to start if you are curious about whether military service might be the right fit for your future.
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs: VA Education and Training Benefits
The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Education & Training site provides authoritative information about the education benefits available to service members, veterans, and eligible family members. This includes detailed guidance on the GI Bill®, tuition assistance, housing allowances, scholarships, and apprenticeship or on-the-job training programs. The VA also walks students through how to apply for benefits, compare schools, and understand which programs are covered. Whether you are considering military service or planning ahead for how to fund your education, this is a reliable resource for exploring long-term college and career opportunities supported by the military.
Military Compensation Report
This report from the nonpartisan Congressional Budget Office provides an in-depth look at how military pay and benefits compare to civilian compensation. It breaks down salary, housing allowances, health coverage, and long-term costs to give a realistic picture of what service members earn. While more technical than student-oriented sites, it is a valuable resource for anyone who wants detailed, data-driven information when considering military service as a career or education pathway.

Career & Technical Education (CTE) Resources

Career & Technical Education (CTE) offers students hands-on learning, industry certifications, and clear pathways into high-demand careers. Every state has its own CTE office, where students can explore local programs, career clusters, work-based learning opportunities, and connections to real employers in their area. To understand the bigger picture, Advanced CTE provides national data, pathway explanations, and examples of successful programs across the country. Together, these resources help students explore career options, compare programs, and plan training that matches their interests and goals. Whether you are curious about technical careers, apprenticeships, or workforce preparation, CTE resources offer a strong foundation for planning your next steps.

Youth Programs & Apprenticeship
The U.S. Department of Labor Youth Apprenticeships program helps high school and young adult students gain paid, hands-on work experience while learning valuable skills. Participants can explore different industries, earn certifications, and build professional connections that prepare them for careers after graduation. The program combines real-world training with classroom instruction, giving students a head start in the workforce. It is a great option for students interested in earning while they learn and exploring career paths beyond traditional college.
Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)
Apprenticeship.gov is a U.S. Department of Labor website that connects students and job seekers with apprenticeship opportunities across the country. It provides information on paid, hands-on training programs in a variety of industries, from healthcare to advanced manufacturing. Students can learn new skills, earn industry-recognized credentials, and gain valuable work experience while preparing for a career. This site is a great resource for anyone interested in combining education and real-world work to launch a successful career.

A “gap year," a break between high school and college, can be a valuable time to explore interests, gain work experience, learn life skills, and refresh before starting college. Research suggests gap years may help students return to school with more clarity, maturity, and motivation. Bureau of Labor Statistics

At the same time, a gap year isn’t right for everyone: without a plan, it can lead to lost momentum, delays in completing a degree, or financial and motivational challenges. Bureau of Labor Statistics

When evaluating a "gap year," be sure to explore both the benefits and possible drawbacks, because taking a gap year should always be a thoughtful, informed decision.

What to Consider and Search in database searches:

gap year benefits and risks
taking a year off before college
gap year and college readiness
impact of gap year on academic performance

Look for articles that discuss:

personal growth, maturity, civic engagement, mental health, or career exploration tied to gap years
academic outcomes for gap‑year students (GPA, retention, graduation rates) and how gap years affect college success
economic or financial challenges — cost, delayed entry to workforce — and evidence-based analyses of those drawbacks

Gap Year: Overview
This article provides an overview of the concept of a gap year, exploring why some students choose to take time off between high school and college. It looks at the potential benefits of a gap year, including personal growth, skill development, and gaining real-world experience. The article also considers how taking a gap year can affect career readiness, academic planning, and future college success. Different perspectives are presented, helping students weigh the pros and cons of this option. By highlighting both opportunities and challenges, it gives a balanced view for anyone thinking about a gap year. You can find this article in Points of View Reference Center, making it a reliable resource for research and planning.
Should Students Have a Gap Year?
If you are considering taking a gap year, this article offers helpful research and insights to guide your decision. It explains how students who plan their gap year intentionally often return to school more motivated, focused, and academically prepared. The article highlights benefits such as gaining real-world experience, building independence, exploring interests, and developing valuable life skills. It also discusses important considerations such as staying organized, setting goals, and planning how the year will support your long-term path. Overall, it gives a balanced look at how a gap year can shape personal growth and future college success. This is a great resource for anyone weighing the pros and cons of taking time off before college.