College Preparation Checklist
As you begin exploring options, it helps to have a clear, step-by-step overview of what to focus on each year of high school. The College Preparation Checklist, created by the U.S. Department of Education, provides an easy-to-follow timeline of important tasks such as academic planning, financial aid steps, saving strategies, and application milestones. It also highlights key opportunities for exploring careers, developing skills, and participating in extracurricular activities that strengthen your college readiness. By breaking down each year into manageable steps, the checklist helps students and families stay organized and confident throughout the high school journey. It is a practical resource for planning ahead and making sure nothing important is overlooked. Whether you are just starting high school or getting ready to apply, this guide makes the path to college feel more achievable.
👉 Download the College Preparation Checklist (PDF)
College Preparation Checklist: What Students & Families Need to Know from Elementary School to High School
https://permanent.fdlp.gov/gpo89650/2016_college_prep_checklist.pdf
Online Resources
Welcome to College Readiness Skills!
This section is all about the skills and habits that help students succeed in college. It includes research-based guidance from articles explaining the academic, organizational, and study skills students need to feel confident and prepared. You will find tips and strategies to strengthen reading, critical thinking, persistence, and other key skills that make the jump to college smoother and more successful.
-
Transitions from High School to College
This article is about how high school students can prepare for college and life beyond. It explores the challenges students often face when moving from high school to college, including gaps in academic skills and differences in expectations. The article highlights programs and supports such as dual enrollment, mentoring, and study skills initiatives that help students build key abilities like organization, persistence, and self-confidence. By providing practical strategies and guidance, these resources give students the tools they need to navigate the transition successfully. With the right preparation and support, students can feel empowered to make confident decisions and thrive in their future academic and career paths. -
Ready or Not: Recognizing and Preparing College‑Ready Students
Ready or Not: Recognizing and Preparing College Ready Students examines what it really means for high school students to be ready for college. The authors explore the academic, social, and personal skills students need to succeed, including study habits, persistence, and self-management. They highlight programs and strategies that help students develop these skills, such as mentoring, college preparatory courses, and targeted support initiatives. The article also discusses how differences in high school resources and expectations can affect readiness, and emphasizes the importance of guidance from educators and families. By understanding what college readiness looks like and how to support it, students can approach postsecondary education with confidence and a clear plan. This resource is valuable for anyone interested in helping students bridge the gap between high school and college successfully.
Welcome to Searching & Applying!
This section will help you explore colleges and guide you step by step through the application process. You’ll find trustworthy resources for researching schools, understanding what admissions officers look for, planning timelines, and submitting applications. Whether you are just starting to explore your options or getting ready to hit “submit,” these tools and tips will help you feel confident and prepared.
-
Common AppThe Common App is a widely used college application platform that allows students to apply to multiple colleges and universities using a single application. It simplifies the process by letting you submit personal information, essays, and recommendations all in one place, saving time and helping you stay organized. The Common App also provides resources and guidance on writing strong college essays, requesting letters of recommendation, and meeting application deadlines. Many colleges accept the Common App, making it a convenient starting point for your college search and application process. By using this platform, students can focus more on crafting thoughtful responses and preparing for college rather than juggling multiple application systems. It is a key tool for students looking to streamline their college applications and stay on track.
-
College Board - BigFuture "Apply to College"College Board’s BigFuture: Apply to College is a student-friendly website that helps guide you through the college application process from start to finish. It provides tools to research colleges, explore majors, and understand admissions requirements so you can make informed decisions. The site also walks you through application steps, deadlines, and tips for writing strong essays and requesting recommendations. BigFuture gives practical advice on planning for standardized tests, organizing application materials, and staying on track throughout high school. By using this resource, students can feel more confident and prepared as they navigate the often confusing process of applying to college. It is a reliable and comprehensive tool for taking the next steps toward postsecondary education.
-
U.S. Department of Education – College NavigatorCollege Navigator is an official federal website managed by the U.S. Department of Education. It uses standardized, verified data from thousands of colleges so students can compare tuition, programs, graduation rates, and financial aid options. As a government source, the information is reliable, accurate, and neutral. Students can trust it to find out exactly what each college offers and make informed decisions.
-
National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC)This report comes from the National Association for College Admission Counseling, a respected professional organization of admissions officers and counselors. It explains how colleges make decisions, what factors matter most, and trends in acceptance rates. Because it’s based on data collected from admissions professionals nationwide, it’s a reliable source for understanding the college admissions process. Students can use it to see what matters most when applying and plan accordingly.
Paying for college can feel overwhelming, but there are many resources to help you make it manageable. This section covers financial aid options like grants, scholarships, and loans, as well as support programs for students who might face extra barriers, such as first-generation or low-income students. You will find trustworthy tools and guidance from national organizations to help you plan, apply, and access the resources you need to succeed in college.
-
1001 Ways to Pay for College
by
This guide is your go-to resource for paying for college. It covers everything from finding scholarships and maximizing federal and state aid to using tax breaks and student loans wisely. You will also find creative tips for earning extra money, like volunteer programs, loan repayment strategies, or even dorm-room side hustles. Packed with practical advice and real-life examples, it is designed to help students and families make college more affordable, no matter your background or experience.
-
FAFSAFree Application for Federal Student Aid or FAFSA is the official government website for applying for federal financial aid. It provides accurate, up-to-date information about grants, loans, and work-study programs. Because it’s managed by the U.S. Department of Education, students can trust it as a reliable first step in making college affordable. Completing the FAFSA opens doors to both federal and many state financial aid programs.
-
Education Commission of the States (ECS)ECS is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization that researches state-level policies affecting college access and affordability. Its resources explain dual enrollment, financial aid policies, and state programs that impact students’ opportunities. Students can rely on ECS for accurate, professional information about how policy shapes access to higher education.
-
National College Attainment Network (NCAN)NCAN is a respected nonprofit focused on helping students, especially underserved populations, gain access to college. It provides reliable research, tools, and best practices for navigating applications, scholarships, and financial aid. Students can trust NCAN for guidance on overcoming barriers and taking concrete steps toward postsecondary education.