IST 605: Discovering the Women of Gothic Literature

Within this page you will find some interesting links and ways to further your research.

• The University at Albany's library search - https://library.albany.edu/, try searching Gothic Literature and Women, you will be amazed at the plethora of info that is just within our own library. 
• The Internet Archive is a great place to find books and video that may indulge in your search for the gothic. The link to the website is:Internet Archive.
• Open Library -books for online loan, also a part of the Internet Archive is called Open Library.  Their direct link is: Open Library.
• JSTOR: https://www.jstor.org/ A great academic Journal, book database. Search "Gothic Literature and Women" and you will find many articles on this subject alone. 
• PDFBooksworld - Search under -Genre: Gothic fiction. PDF Downloads of Gothic Books
• Project Gutenberg - Free books, not just the gothic but more! Project Gutenberg

• Librivox. -Free Public Domain Audio Books - Librivox

• The American Women's Almanac -A great reference to use, unfortunately no online version yet. However, if you head over to Internet Archive you can see a 1997 version. In their literature section there are great write ups on the American Authors such as Charlotte Perkins-Gilman, Shirley Jackson, Toni Morrison, and many more. Linked here:

          Internet Archive -American Womans Almanac

Happy Hunting! 

Links to the media on the women of Gothic Literature

Sometimes just reading the book is not enough

 The Haunting of Hill House, based loosely on Shirley Jacksons book. The epitome of the ghostly haunted house story, now in movie format. 

  Link to IMDB Database: The Haunting of Hill House

Ann Rice's book turned to movie. "Interview with a Vampire" an eclectic movie based on her most famous of books.

Link to IMDB database: Interview with a Vampire

  The life of Mary Shelley and her creation in movie format.  Did you know she was ONLY 16 years old when she wrote

   Frankenstein!

  Links to IMDB Database: Mary Shelley and Frankenstein.

A movie rendition of the book by Toni Morrison's Beloved.

Link to IMDB Database: Beloved.

A wonderful movie. One of my favorites. It certainly purveys the idea of gothic. Sometimes the older version becomes the best!

Link to IMDB Database: Jane Eyre.

A great rendition of the book to movie!

Link to IMDB Database: Northanger Abbey

A current variation of the book to movie.

Link to IMDB Database: Rebecca.

Harry Potter...who? Very well done, different to see certain people acting in a movie based on a book. 

Link to IMDB Database: The Woman in Black.

Black and white movie based on the book, again older is bettter.

Link to IMDB Database: Wuthering Heights.

• ResearchGate: "Ritchie and Carters beauty and beasts"
• Proquest: "Reclaiming the Monster: Abjection and Subversion in the Marital Gothic Novel"
• MDPI Website: "The Domestic Tyranny of Haunted Houses in Mary Wilkins Freeman and Shirley Jackson"
• Proquest: Dissertations & Thesis "Gothic Mothers and the Gothic Daughters they Create"
• Proquest: Dissertations & Thesis "The pride and conscious worth"; Characterization of the female in the novels of Ann Radcliffe"
• Proquest: Scholarly Journal: "Race, Medievalism, and the eighteenth-century Gothic turn"
• Womens' Studies: Haunted House/Haunted Heroine: Female Gothic closets in "The Yellow Wallpaper"
• JSTOR: Postexistentialism in the Neo-Gothic Mode: Anne Rice's "Interview with a Vampire"

 Happy Reading!

Finitus.

*Spoken words fly away, but the written word remains. Finished*