Dictionaries
Yiddish-English/English-Yiddish Dictionary and Phrasebook by ISBN: 9780781812986Publication Date: 2012-11-01This dictionary provides both Yiddish to English and Englsih to Yiddish translations as well as transliterations. There is also a phrasebook included in the back which would be helpful for traveling and speaking with fellow Yiddish speakers. The book is also small enough to take with you on-the-go.
Szabó, V. (2013). Yiddish dictionary & Phrasebook. Hippocrene Books, Inc.
Comprehensive Yiddish-English Dictionary by ISBN: 9780253009838Publication Date: 2013-01-08This Yiddish-English dictionary is highly recommended among learners, though you must be comfortable with the alef-beys before using as there is no transliteration. However, as the title suggests, this is one of the most comprehensive Yiddish-English dictionaries available.
Beinfeld, S., & Bochner, H. (2013). Comprehensive yiddish-english dictionary. Indiana University Press.
- University of Kentucky Yiddish Dictionary
This online dictionary is a great tool for searching for English-Yiddish and Yiddish-English definitions. You can search for words in whole or in part, in Yiddish or in English. This site can be helpful when transliterating words as well, since any Yiddish script is automatically transliterated as part of the search process.
Textbooks
In Eynem by ISBN: 9781734387230Publication Date: 2020-08-01This textbook, made available by the Yiddish Book Center, is one of the newest texts for learning
Yiddish. It is split into two volumes and contains many practice readings and exercises for writing. It is also available as an e-book! White Goat Press is a publisher of Yiddish works translated into English as well as bilingual books and is extremely reputable. This textbook is a requirement for some Yiddish language courses at the Yiddish Book Center as well as other organizations like The Worker’s Circle.
Vaisman Schulman, A., Brown, J., & Yashinsky, M. (2020). In EYNEM: The new yiddish textbook. Yiddish Book Center.
College Yiddish by ISBN: 9780914512264Publication Date: 2011College Yiddish is perhaps the most widely used Yiddish textbook. First published in 1946 and revised numerous times over the years, this textbook is a requirement for many classes taught by YIVO. The Fifth Revised Edition is available to borrow with a free account through Internet Archive. Still extremely relevant today, this textbook provides not just lessons in vocabulary and grammar but in Jewish life and culture as well.
Weinreich, U., Âkobson, R. O., & Shandler, J. (2011). College yiddish: An introduction to the Yiddish language and to Jewish life and culture. Yivo Institute for Jewish Research.
Encyclopedias
- YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe offers a definitive history of the origins of the Yiddish language. YIVO also notes the differences in Yiddish dialects, which is important information for current Yiddish learners. The Yiddish that is considered standard today may be different than what one’s ancestors spoke in Eastern Europe and may affect which learning resources are used. This is essential reading for anyone who wants to better understand the language before getting started learning the basics.