Don't Have a Library Card?
Getting a library card is easy and opens up a world of free resources! With a library card, you can borrow books, access digital materials, and participate in exciting programs and events. Sign up today and start exploring everything your library has to offer. Find your local library here. Don’t miss out on this valuable resource!
Further Reading and Exploration
- The Encyclopedia of Fantasy
- This comprehensive reference work provides detailed entries on authors, works, themes, and concepts in fantasy literature (Clute & Grant, 1999).
- How Does Fiction Reading Influence Empathy?
- This study explores how reading fiction, including fantasy, can enhance empathic skills by immersing readers in the experiences of characters, thereby fostering a deeper understanding of human emotions and social interactions (Bal & Veltkamp, 2013).
- Journal of Children's Literature
- This journal features research-based articles that explore contemporary issues in children's literature, including diversity, social justice, and the evolving role of fantasy in educational settings (Journal of children’s literature, 1994).
- Fantasy Literature for Children: Past, Present, and Future Tensions
- This article discusses the historical development of children's fantasy literature and its educational implications, providing a comprehensive overview of the genre’s evolution and its impact on young readers (West, 2000).
- Children's Imagination and Fantasy: Implications for Development, Education, and Classroom Activities
- This research highlights the benefits of encouraging imagination and fantasy in children's education, linking these elements to cognitive and emotional development (Smith & Mathur, 2009).
- Sci-Fi and Fantasy Build Mental Resiliency in Young Readers
- This article examines how fantasy literature can help young readers develop coping skills and mental resilience by engaging with imaginative and complex narratives (Jones, 2020).
- From Homer to Harry Potter: A Handbook on Myth and Fantasy
- This book provides a comprehensive exploration of the connections between classical mythology and modern fantasy literature, offering valuable insights into the thematic and structural continuities within the genre (Dickerson & O’Hara, 2006).
- The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature
- This companion offers a broad overview of the fantasy genre, including critical essays on its history, themes, and key works (James & Mendlesohn, 2012).
- Fantasy: The Literature of Subversion
- Jackson's book explores the subversive potential of fantasy literature, examining how it challenges and redefines societal norms (Jackson, 1981).
Toolbox for Further Research
Accessing databases
To locate databases for further research, use your library's database finder. Other useful resources, such as the Internet Archive, do not require access through a library membership.
When searching for academic articles and other scholarly resources, use a variety of keywords to narrow down your search. Keyword suggestions:
- Fantasy literature
- Fantasy film
- Fantasy genre
- Good vs. evil in fantasy
- Magic in literature
- Fantasy and empathy
Using combinations of these keywords will help you find specific and relevant resources in academic databases. Refine searches with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) and use quotation marks for exact phrases to further narrow down the results.
Example: "fantasy genre" AND "magic"
Toolbox