Librarian in Training
Nicholas Siegler
Librarian Trainee, M.S. Information Science Student
Key Terms
Tabletop Miniature Wargame- is a form of wargaming in which military units are represented by miniature physical models on a model battlefield.
Introduction
Warhammer 40,000 is a tabletop miniature wargame that was first published in the United Kingdom in 1987. This guide addresses two significant questions: What is the history of Warhammer 40,000, and how do you play it? This guide may appeal to several audiences but is most focused on Teens in High School & College students in the area looking to start a new hobby and form connections/friendships with others. The demand for tabletop games has exploded in the last few years, and it is helpful for young people to explore their options to see what style and setting they find most appealing. This guide is also practical for anyone who may be intimidated by the game's complexity.
With this guide, you can learn about the history of Warhammer 40,000 and its rise into mainstream media around the world, find helpful resources and necessary tools to learn, and start playing Warhammer 40,000. This guide provides a variety of distinct formats to meet different needs. Patrons will find articles, books, videos, films, and more. Among these sources are official gameplay materials.
Databases & Search Tools
The following databases, catalogs, and other search tools were used to locate the sources provided in this guide.
IMPORTANT: When trying to search for your own sources relating to Warhammer 40,000, it is essential to test out numerous term combinations such as "Warhammer 40,000," "Warhammer 40k," "Wh40k," "miniature wargame," and "tabletop miniature wargame." Different sources will use specific terminology and labels to describe Warhammer 40,000; therefore, it is crucial when searching for additional materials to test out all the key terms provided.
- Google
- Google is a popular search engine that scans the web to find and provide users with relevant web pages based on the words typed into the search box. Its algorithm is designed to provide the most relevant data sources.
- Google Scholar
-
Find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
-
- IEEE Xplore
- Find resources for computer science, electrical engineering, electronics engineering, and mechanical engineering.
- IMDb
- The Internet Movie Database is an online database containing information on movies, TV shows, and other media. The site includes information such as cast and crew lists, plot summaries, trivia, ratings, and reviews. When available, IMDb also provides links to the Amazon catalog, allowing users to purchase DVDs and Blu-rays.
- Sage Journals
- The Sage Journals database contains more than 1,100 published peer-reviewed journals. These journals cover various topics, including the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, special education, sociology, and urban studies.
- Wayback Machine
- The Internet Archive Wayback Machine is a service that allows people to visit archived versions of Web sites. Visitors to the Wayback Machine can type in a URL, select a date range, and then begin surfing on an archived version of the Web.