REFERENCES
Arenberg, I. K., Di Maio, V. J. M., & Baden, M. M. (2020). A Reevaluation of the death of Vincent van Gogh: Suicide or murder? The need for a definitive autopsy. The American journal of forensic medicine and pathology, 41(4), 291–298. https://doi.org/10.1097/PAF.0000000000000595
Forensic pathologists lay out the theory that van Gogh’s death could not have been due to a self inflicted gunshot wound. Helpful for students who want a credible account by people who do not believe, as most scholars do, that van Gogh committed suicide. This offers a perspective on a topic that is widely debated and is prominent in popular culture as well as discussed in the art world. The authors have knowledge and are reputable. This is useful if you are writing about Vincent’s life, his illness, and overall legacy.
Biography (2020, July 26). Vincent van Gogh: The tragic story of the artist’s life [Video file]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KlBG2ojDbQ8
A very helpful starter resource from a popular source, Biography. This features key moments in the artist’s life, including his first oil painting, his time in Paris, his relationships and final illness. The short documentary includes experts like Dr. Bradley Parson of Parsons School of Design and author Dr. Cliff Edwards. There are a good number of his artworks featured in between the interviews and narration. It’s also very well done and interesting.
Britannica, T. Editors of Encyclopaedia (2020, May 2). Vincent van Gogh summary. Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/summary/Vincent-van-Gogh
A good place to begin for a summary of major moments in van Gogh’s life with information on art movements like expressionism for further exploration. All entries are written and fact-checked by the Editors of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Very practical when you are looking to explore related topics such as specific art movements van Gogh was a part of, or places he lived in, as well as other artists he associated with.
Buckley. (2017). Vincent Van Gogh (1853–1890): Experiencing Madness. The American Journal of Psychiatry, 174(7), 626–627. https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.ajp.2017.17030368
Van Gogh suffered intermittent psychotic episodes. This short, peer reviewed article looks at the psychiatric implications of his art and how his illness and art were related. The article also looks at what was therapeutic for the artist and what further complicated his illness. This is an important aspect of van Gogh’s life and should be reviewed from authoritative sources like this one. Buckley draws conclusions about van Gogh’s work through his mental illness that may be beneficial to a scholar.
Curious Muse (2021, April 23). Van Gogh's art in 7 minutes: From iconic paintings to immersive experiences [Video file]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kcXgRK0M3w&t=1s
This is a short synopsis of some of the essential facts of van Gogh’s life. Particularly helpful if you don’t know where to begin a project or pick a research topic to gather ideas, or if the viewer does not know much about the artist. The style of the video is enjoyable, bringing works of art to life via animation, and there are also clips of young art historians discussing key themes. The length of the video makes it very digestible.
Department of European Paintings. (2004) “Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890).” In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/gogh/hd_gogh.htm
The Metropolitan Museum of Art houses many of van Gogh’s works of art. This gives a window into his life, but also offers in depth analysis of specific pieces, and related essays to explore. For example, the student interested in van Gogh’s woodcuts may need to know more about the influence of Japanese prints, and there is a link to an essay embedded in the main article. Particularly handy is how the user is able to dive deeper into particular works of art. Highly recommended for the breadth of knowledge in this guide.
Fischer, S. N. (2020). Breadth of Vincent Van Gogh: An analysis of artistic motivation. https://diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:747783/datastream/PDF/view
This thesis reviews the motivations and insecurities behind the notable works of Vincent van Gogh through analysis of letters, biographical history, and formal analysis to “discover the ways Vincent may have used his artistry as a defense mechanism or reaction to his intrapersonal struggles.” It’s an interesting thesis that can model good research for undergraduate students looking to delve into the significance of van Gogh’s work. The literature review is the best section of this thesis and can inspire more sources for a student.
Folego, G., Gomes, O., & Rocha, A. (2016, September). From impressionism to expressionism: Automatically identifying van Gogh's paintings. In 2016 IEEE international conference on image processing (ICIP) (pp. 141-145). IEEE.
An exploration of authorship of works of art. This is a technical look at automatic identification via visual patterns of a painter directly from images, and via machine learning. This will be most useful for those studying art history or curation or anyone who wants to explore this technical side in more depth. Also discusses art styles associated with van Gogh.
Getty’s Collection Online. (2022, December 21). Vincent van Gogh (the J. Paul Getty Museum Collection). Getty. https://www.getty.edu/art/collection/person/103JV9
Another museum resource that offers a little biographical information, and more in depth information about van Gogh works in the Getty collection. You can review individual works of art, as well as associated exhibitions.
Jansen, L., Luijten , H., & Bakker, N. (Eds.). (2009). Vincent van Gogh The Letters. https://vangoghletters.org/vg/
The online version of 902 letters from van Gogh offers some features that a print version does not like detailed annotations. They can also be accessed by period, correspondent and place, or by selecting those containing sketches. This site contains all Van Gogh's letters to his brother Theo and artist friends like Paul Gauguin. The quick guide explains how best to navigate the site and is user friendly. Some sections that are very worthwhile: van Gogh as a letter writer, and historical context. Another great feature is that you can search within the letters, so if there is a topic you most want to read about in the correspondence, reading the online version may be more convenient than a book version.
Gogh, V. van. (2009). The Complete Letters of Vincent Van Gogh: With reproductions of all the drawings in the correspondence. Bulfinch Press Book, Little Brown and Company.
The only complete edition of van Gogh’s letters in English. This is a beautifully illustrated three-volume boxed set that would be most instructive for those who want to explore the letters and maintain them in their library. In these letters you see that van Gough was a most original and talented writer as well as artist. After reading a dozen of these you will begin to understand van Gogh’s struggles, philosophies, and motivations. A robust primary source for anyone who wants a complete understanding of this creator.
Hendriks, Vellekoop, M., & Hendriks, E. (Eds.). (2019). Van Gogh’s sunflowers illuminated : Art meets science. Amsterdam University Press. https://doi.org/10.1515/9789048550531
A robust exploration of 11 paintings of sunflowers produced by Van Gogh while he was living in Arles between 1887 and 1899. This book offers both technical scientific analysis and cultural analysis with beautiful illustrations. Particularly helpful for those who want to know about specific works of art from a technical viewpoint.
The History Guy, (2019, May 2). In His Brother's Shadow: Theo van Gogh [Video file]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kvFfDqBAavg&t=13s
Theo van Gogh was the most important person in Vincent van Gogh’s life and work. Theo introduced him to other artists, tried to sell Vincent’s paintings, and was part of the correspondence that has helped us understand Vincent. This video is an introduction to Theo. Of particular interest is the section beginning at 10:30 dealing with the birth of Theo’s son, Vincent’s suicide, and Theo’s decline after his brother’s death.
Johnson, M. (n.d.) Style Guide: Is Van Gogh an Impressionist or Expressionist?. Retrieved November 2, 2023 from https://nnart.org/style-guide-is-van-gogh-an-impressionist-or-expressionist/
Blog nnart is a hub for computer and neural-network-based art. The style guide on expressionism is very good at breaking down the differences in this art movement from the ones that came before, especially impressionism and post-impressionism. The author also charts which pieces from van Gogh may fall into each category and gives a good look at the materials and colors van Gogh used. Although the site is bloggy, and not always the easiest to read, the content is informative.
Kaplama, E. (2016). The cosmological aesthetic worldview in Van Gogh’s late landscape paintings. Cosmos and History: The Journal of Natural and Social Philosophy, 12(1), 218-237.
A philosophical exploration of Starry Night and other van Gogh landscapes. This article approaches van Gogh through the lens of Kant, Nietzsche and other philosophers for aesthetic principles. While a bit obscure for some users, it provides a very interesting philosophical perspective if that is an angle a student wishes to take. The analysis of landscapes, some of van Gogh’s most masterful works, is important.
Krall, E. (2021). Van Gogh, Nature, and Spirituality. https://scholarship.rollins.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1001&context=honors-in-the-major-art
A thesis with the topic of understanding “his religious upbringing with his desire for a more meaningful spirituality than was possible with his family's dedication to organized religion.” This does a very good job exploring dozens of works of art within the context of religion and nature with an emphasis on the recurring symbols of wheat, sowers, and cypress trees. I found this original and interesting for anyone contemplating the symbolic content of van Gogh’s artwork and was ambitious in the scope. At one point, Vincent did try to be a preacher and there’s a good section on what that time in his life was like and why he was compelled to do this work until he changed his mind for art.
Niels Arnold, W. (2004). The illness of Vincent van Gogh. Journal of the History of the Neurosciences, 13(1), 22-43. https://doi.org/10.1080/09647040490885475
This analyzes the many possibilities for van Gogh’s mental illness in medical detail as well as the neurological problems, ranging from gastrointestinal pains to fits with hallucinations that he suffered. Diagnosing van Gogh in his life and posthumously has been a topic of many articles, journals, and newspaper stories. For example, “It was also apparent to me that so many of those suggestions were loosely conceived and poorly documented, but they landed in the literature and in some cases had been widely quoted and requoted (errors to the third degree) without benefit of common sense. A blatant example is the silly claim of digitalis poisoning as a cause of van Gogh’s underlying illness” (pg 23). This author concludes, in a credibly written peer reviewed paper, that van Gogh suffered from acute intermittent porphyria [AIP], and shows neuroscientific evidence.
Oxford University Press. (2023). Impressionism and post-impressionism. Oxford Art Online. https://www.oxfordartonline.com/page/1623
A short page about specific art movements. Oxford provides an authoritative and easy-to-use art resource. This entry is important to understand the basics of van Gogh’s art style. A serious art dictionary that can be cross referenced with other topics (like Gaugin) for a fuller understanding of van Gogh’s art and times.
Perspective (2021, December 18). How Van Gogh’s Sister-In-Law Made Him A Renowned Painter [Video file]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYqynB1LJ8A
This short documentary paints a full portrait of Jo van Gogh-Bonger with background on her relationship to Theo and Vincent as well as biographical data like how she was a very educated woman who worked as a translator.. Describes how she became a self taught art dealer, negotiating with art museums, curators, and other artists. This is essential viewing for anyone who wants to understand Jo, an innovative woman who is only recently being recognized for her crucial role. There’s also a section on the van Gogh museum. Some scenes are enactments and then there are interviews spliced in-between by topic.
Priestly, Paul. (2017 , November 28). Art History School: Vincent van Gogh the maverick genius - a story of passion, tragedy, and legacy [Video file]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7HeyyzPR_TM
This is told from an actor portraying Vincent’s point of view, and broken up into chapters for easy reviewing with dates for each section. I particularly like the sections on his time as an art dealer, and then a preacher. The creator says he made this for use in art societies and art groups. Since there is a lot of autobiographical reference this feels more accessible for viewers. The notes on the YouTube page are also informative.
Richman-Abdou, K. (2020, September 8). Meet Theo van Gogh: Vincent’s younger brother and one of history’s most important art dealers. My Modern Met. https://mymodernmet.com/theo-van-gogh/
An art historian writes about the complex relationship between the van Gogh brothers from their Dutch childhood, to their deaths. Notable for an approach that acknowledges that as “a prominent dealer in late 19th-century Paris, he helped launched avant-garde art to the forefront, popularizing movements like Impressionism and Post-Impressionism and, of course, introducing the public to Vincent van Gogh's oeuvre.” This is a good read for those who want to understand Theo’s professional life and role in the family.
Shorto. (2021). The Woman Who Made van Gogh. In The New York Times Magazine (pp. 40–44). The New York Times Company. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/04/14/magazine/jo-van-gogh-bonger.html
Essential reading to understand how an obscure artist rose to become as loved as he is now. Jo van Gogh-Bonger, who had no art education, became a leading advocate for her brother-in-law’s work after her husband's death. She turned her grief into action, entering an art world that was often sexist. She organized exhibitions, visited galleries and museums in Berlin, Paris, Copenhagen, and sold the works gradually, leading to higher demand. Additionally, she created a family legacy so that future generations carried on their artistic heritage. Valuable for many reasons, but interesting from a feminist point of view of how van Gogh-Bonger overcame numerous obstacles due to people’s incorrect assumptions about her based on gender.
Silvers, A. (1994). Vincent's Story: The importance of contextualism for art education. Journal of aesthetic education, 28(3), 47-62. https://doi.org/10.2307/3333400
This is marginally about van Gogh but poses interesting questions about biography, art criticism and art education. Can be used for an exploration of aesthetics, biography, and making meaning. Also has an interesting suggestion about ‘cultural baggage’ and how what we think/believe about something colors perceptions about value.
Susuz, M., & Öztürk, Ö. T. (2022). Social realism in the works of Vincent Van Gogh. In Proceedings of International Conference on Social and Education Sciences (pp. 327-331) https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Istes-Organization/publication/366176124_Proceedings_of_International_Conference_on_Social_and_Education_Sciences_2022/links/6394ae73484e65005bfc611d/Proceedings-of-International-Conference-on-Social-and-Education-Sciences-2022.pdf#page=335
Emphasizes van Gogh’s earlier works and the cultural context of the work named 'The Potato Eaters' (1885). The authors state that, “The most important message Van Gogh wanted to convey with this work was not ideal human anatomy or aesthetic values.” This article is about the social value of painting, and social realism in particular. A good look at one of van Gogh’s earlier works and how his life circumstances may have affected the creation of the painting.
Townsend, & Freemantle, R. (2023). Three works on paper by Vincent Van Gogh: Technical study, display considerations and a conjectural colour reconstruction. Journal of the Institute of Conservation, 46(1), 3–22. https://doi.org/10.1080/19455224.2022.2161097
A very interesting technical examination of three of van Gogh’s pieces in the Tate Gallery. Granular look at color changes (with illustrations) and how best to preserve works on paper. A good resource for students interested in conservation and art history. Sometimes, we overlook van Gogh’s works on paper, so this is valuable in that it addresses many of the special concerns with this medium. Has information about lighting, mounting, framing and digital reconstruction.
Tucker, J. (2018, April 23). Brotherly love: The story of Vincent & Theo Van Gogh. Sartle. https://www.sartle.com/blog/post/brotherly-love-the-story-of-vincent-theo-van-gogh
Sartle hopes to “Disrupt and democratize the traditional academic art history model,” and writes about art history in a different tone than many articles about van Gogh. While this is not a scholarly work, Ms. Tucker writes frequently on art history and gives a good summary of the brothers’ relationship. An introductory piece to be used for novices. The author highlights how the brothers both had a love of art and worked together for a time at Goupil & Cie “one of Europe’s most prestigious firms of fine art dealers,” which is a part of their lives that had major repercussions for each brother.
Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Retrieved October 5, 2023 https://www.vangoghmuseum.nl/en
The van Gogh museum site is also essential reading/viewing and contains information about their definitive collection and biographical pieces. There is even a good section for children (https://www.vangoghmuseum.nl/en/art-and-stories/children) with activities. Many of the most important works can be found by searching their collection: https://www.vangoghmuseum.nl/en/collection and each art piece has associated object data, information about exhibitions the piece was featured in, and citations to relevant literature.
Voorhies, James. (2024) “Post-Impressionism.” In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. New York:The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/poim/hd_poim.htm
2004 essay from a curator in the Department of European Paintings, The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Compares van Gogh and other artists and gives a timeline of the evolution of the movement. If you are doing a comparative study of Van Gigh and another artist of this time period, this would be a place to start. A good framing of what post-impressionism is and how specific works of art can be viewed through that lens.
Shilliam, N. J. (2021, April 30). Johanna van Gogh-Bonger (1862-1925): The unseen champion of Vincent van Gogh | Princeton university library. Princeton University. https://library.princeton.edu/news/general/2021-04-30/johanna-van-gogh-bonger-1862-1925-unseen-champion-vincent-van-gogh
An article about how “Johanna undertook the guardianship of the artist’s works and status,” in the context of Princeton’s Marquand Library of art “acquired a catalogue of one of the earliest exhibitions of art by Vincent van Gogh.” Has informative details about the catalog. Also listed an additional resource that would be helpful if you wanted to study her life further, namely the Bonger Diaries which can be found at https://www.bongerdiaries.org.
Walker. (2008). Van Gogh, Collector of “Japan.” The Comparatist, 32(1), 82–114. https://doi.org/10.1353/com.0.0025
Many of van Gogh’s drawings, woodcuts, and oil paintings are influenced by Japonisme, which Walker states is, “the movement that, beginning in the early 1870s and running its course by around 1900, encouraged the appreciation and systematic study of Japanese art.” This article speaks to how van Gogh also collected Japanese work: “Van Gogh was one of the most avid lovers and students of Japanese woodblock prints (ukiyo-e, or pictures of the floating world), as well as of Japanese albums created for export.” Thus, this is an important inspiration point for the artist that a student may want to address. I enjoyed learning about van Gogh’s collection of Japanese prints and how he also incorporated these elements into his own work.
Welsh-Ovcharov, B. (1998). The ownership of Vincent van Gogh’s “Sunflowers.” Burlington Magazine, 140, 184–192. https://www.jstor.org/stable/887827
Ownership of one of the Sunflowers paintings has been a source of controversy and this article narrates its history from Gaugin to Theo van Gogh all the way down to Yasuda. It’s a very interesting case of provenance, an important topic in the art world. If a student wanted to study the topic of provenance and how art is marketed and sold this would be a good place to begin.
Whitney, C. A. (1986). The Skies of Vincent Van Gogh. Art History, 9, 351–362. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1467-8365.1986.tb00206.x
A central theme in van Gogh is the sky, from Starry Night to Cafe Terrace at Night. This article looks at patterns in these works, from a scientific and astronomical viewpoint, as well as an exercise in interpretation. A fine piece for art historian students, those who want to learn more about the science behind these particular works, or just learn about the possible meanings behind van Gogh’s many works of art that feature sky motifs.
Zemel, C. (1987). Sorrowing women, rescuing men: Van Gogh’s images of women and family. Art History, 10, 351–368. https://libproxy.albany.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,sso&db=aax&AN=505506455&site=ehost-live
In 1882-1883, while living in the Hague, van Gogh produced “69 drawings and watercolors of women and domestic life,” making it one of his main themes at this time. These are portraits of daily life, but also gender and class, family life and sex work. The article also talks about Sien Hoornick, a woman van Gogh lived with for a good period of time. This was a very significant relationship for van Gogh with a romantic partner and the complexity of the relationship is important. Happily, the author includes many of the works of art referenced in the article.