LibGuides: IST 605: LGBTQIA+ Representation in Children's Literature: Research Databases and Journals

Using Databases

Databases allow you to search for articles, papers, encyclopedia entries, and more related to your topic. Databases specific to LGBTQIA+ resources and general literature databases will be helpful in searching for resources on this topic. Recommended search terms include "children's literature," "children's picture books," "children's books," "picture books," "middle grade books," "middle grade literature," "LGBTQ," and "LGBTQ representation." Use Boolean operators to differentiate, combine, and exclude certain key words and phrases from your search.

Key Databases

Education Source
Find full-text articles, books and monographs, education-related conference papers, and citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews.
Coverage spans from early childhood to higher education. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Full-text of biographies, bibliographies, and literary criticism of authors from all time periods covering novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers from antiquity-present.
Gale's Literature Resource Center focuses on undergraduate students and provides access to biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis from the core sources Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism, although additional Gale sources are represented. It includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. In addition, it includes a link to the full-text of Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, 1995.
GenderWatch
Find full-text articles from academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental (n-g-o) special reports that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Humanities Source
Full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more. Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. Full text for over 1,520 journals.
LGBTQ+ Source
Find full-text, indexed and abstracts of scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
Find articles, book abstracts, and conference proceedings in all areas of library and information science, from 1969 to present.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
Find full-text, indexing and abstracts for journals covering library and information science studies and all related subjects, including librarianship, classification, cataloging and information management.
Project Muse Ebook Collection
Contains contemporary poetry, fiction, and creative non-fiction from a number of university presses published in 2010 & 2011. Contains open access ebooks.

Gender Forum | An Internet Journal for Gender Studies
Online, peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to the discussion of gender issues. The journal was founded by Prof. Dr. Neumeier, University of Cologne in 2002.

Journals

Research on Diversity in Youth Literature
An online, open-access journal "attending to issues of diversity, equity, social justice, inclusion, and intersectionality in youth literature, culture, and media." (About This Journal | Research on Diversity in Youth Literature | St. Catherine University, n.d.)
more...less...
Founded by a group of activist scholars in December 2016, this journal is an effort to "diversify our discussion regarding youth literature and media, bring into dialogue with one another voices from the interrelated fields of librarianship, education, literature, communication, publishing, and so on, and provide space for emerging scholars and undervalued scholarship."
The journal is supported by the Children’s Literature Association Diversity Research Grant; the American Library Association Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services; St. Catherine University; and West Chester University of Pennsylvania. (About This Journal | Research on Diversity in Youth Literature | St. Catherine University, n.d.)
Children's Literature | Project MUSE
"Children's Literature publishes theoretically-based articles that address key issues in the field. Each volume includes articles, essays, and abstracts of dissertations of note." (Project MUSE - Children's Literature, n.d.)
more...less...
This journal is published by Johns Hopkins University and is the annual publication of the Modern Language Association Division on Children's Literature and the Children's Literature Association (ChLA). (Project MUSE - Children's Literature, n.d.)
Children's Literature in Education | SpringerLink
"A peer-reviewed journal covering children's literature worldwide, suitable for professionals in the field (academics, librarians, teachers) and any other interested adults." (Children's Literature in Education, n.d.) Volumes from 1970-present.

CIST-605: Information Sources and Services: Research Guides

IST 605: LGBTQIA+ Representation in Children's Literature

Using Databases

Key Databases

Journals

This is a collaborative space between the University at Albany Libraries and the CECH Information Science & Technology program, where students in CIST-605 get hands-on experience creating pathfinders/guides as part of their coursework.