LibGuides: IST 605: Pioneer Women in STEM: Introduction

Introduction

In the history of science and technology, men are often highlighted for their discoveries and creations, however women have also been pioneers in their own right. The purpose of this research guide is to educate students on the contributions, history, and biography of notable women in science,technology, engineering and mathematics. Additionally, this research guide is meant to highlight a minority group who is often overlooked in their fields. Through these resources, students can discover the many pioneer women in STEM fields and how their work affected and changed our society. The guide highlights different women in various fields such as physics, biology, and computer science. Books and other resources are provided for specific women such as Marie Curie, Ada Lovelace, Rosalind Franklin, Jane Goodall, and Admiral Grace Hopper. The guide also lists general books and resources that cover black and american women in STEM. Lastly, useful databases that specialize in science are listed to help provide students the tools to find additional information on women in STEM if they choose.

Marie Curie

Ada Lovelace

Rosalind Franklin

Jane Goodall

Admiral Grace Hopper

Misc

Databases

Web of Science Core Collection (1978-present)
Web of Science is a database that provides articles on social and physical sciences from the 1890's to the present day. Given it covers a wide range of science, this is a good source to use for any of the above listed women as well as general searches for women contributors in a particular field. The UI provides advanced search options that makes narrowing down search terms easy and intuitive.

Search instructions: Terms such as the scientists name and the discipline they studied in are great ways to find information on this topic. Utilize the advanced search option by adding a row, Then search for the name (ex. "Marie Curie") then add a second term of the topic ( ex. "Chemistry").
ScienceDirect
Science Direct allows users to look up information on physical sciences, engineering, life science, health sciences, and social sciences. with over 1000 journals dating back to 1995, this database would be useful for additional information on any of the above women's work and discoveries.

Search Instructions: For best results in searching with this database, use the name of the person you are trying to find under the search term. If there is a specific part of that person you are trying to search (example, discoveries or inventions) try adding an additional search term to narrow it down.
Applied Science & Technology Source
This resource covers applied sciences and computer science, meaning it is a great resource for more information on scientists such as Ada Lovelace or Grace Hopper.

Search Instructions: To search, put the name of the scientist you wish to know more about in the top most field. to narrow down the search, put additional terms in the fields below. Additional search terms can include discoveries, inventions, biography, or discipline.
Springer Computer Science eBook Collection
This database provides research, surveys, encyclopedias, and textbooks. Given the technical nature of this database, this is especially good for finding additional information on women with disciplines in computer science and technology such as Ada Lovelace or Grace Hopper

Search Instruction: When searching with this database, try using the name of the woman you are searching.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Online Journals
This resource covers science journals between the years of 1879-1995. This resource is great for more learning about scientists from the 20th century such as Marie Curie.

Search Instructions: To search, put the name of the scientist you wish to know more about in the top most field. to narrow down the search, you can select specific journals or specific years you would like to see.

Work Cited

Abergel, Rebecca, et al. “The Enduring Legacy of Marie Curie: Impacts of Radium in 21st

Century Radiological and Medical Sciences.” International Journal of Radiation Biology,

vol. 98, no. 3, 2022, pp. 267–275, https://doi.org/10.1080/09553002.2022.2027542.

“Biography of Grace Murray Hopper.” Office of the President, 9 Aug. 2017,

president.yale.edu/biography-grace-murray-hopper.

Bradshaw. (2013). The Genius Of Marie Curie: The Woman Who Lit Up The World. British

Broadcasting Corporation.

Cobb, & Comfort, N. (2023). What Rosalind Franklin truly contributed to the discovery of DNA’s

structure. Nature (London), 616(7958), 657–660.

https://doi.org/10.1038/d41586-023-01313-5

“Dr. Rosalind Franklin.” Rosalind Franklin University,

www.rosalindfranklin.edu/about/facts-figures/dr-rosalind-franklin/. Accessed 6 Aug. 2023.

Essinger. (2014). Ada’s algorithm : how Lord Byron’s daughter Ada Lovelace launched the digital

age. Melville House.

Holmes. (2015). Enchantress of abstraction: Richard Holmes re-examines the legacy of Ada

Lovelace, mathematician and computer pioneer.(COMPUTER SCIENCE). Nature

(London), 525(7567), 30–.

“Jane Goodall.” Education, education.nationalgeographic.org/resource/jane-goodall/. Accessed 6

Aug. 2023.

Maddox. (2002). Rosalind Franklin : the dark lady of DNA (1st ed.). HarperCollins.

“Miss Goodall and the Wild Chimpanzees : Welles, Orson, 1915-1985 : Free Download, Borrow,

and Streaming.” Internet Archive, 1 Jan. 1965,

archive.org/details/missgoodallandthewildchimpanzees/missgoodallandthewildchimpan

eesreel1.mov.

Peterson, Dale. Jane Goodall: The Woman Who Redefined Man. Mariner Books, 2008.

“The Nobel Prize in Physics 1903.” NobelPrize.Org,

www.nobelprize.org/prizes/physics/1903/marie-curie/biographical/. Accessed 6 Aug.

2023.

Warren, Wini. Black Women Scientists in the United States. Indiana University Press, 1999.

Wayne, Tiffany K. American Women of Science since 1900. ABC-CLIO, 2011.

Zwolak, Justyna. “Ada Lovelace: The World’s First Computer Programmer Who Predicted

Artificial Intelligence.” NIST, 28 June 2023,

www.nist.gov/blogs/taking-measure/ada-lovelace-worlds-first-computer-programmer-w

o-predicted-artificial.

CIST Student Sandbox

IST 605: Pioneer Women in STEM