Reference Materials
These reference materials provide glossaries of terms, general overviews of astronomy and astrophysics concepts and discoveries, and maps of celestial bodies. Reference materials can assist with unfamiliar terminology and getting an overview of topics before diving in to a particular facet more deeply.
Ridpath, I. (Ed.) (2018). A dictionary of astronomy (3rd ed.). Oxford University Press.
A few names tend to come up frequently in astronomy and astrophysics materials, and Ian Ridpath is among those repeated names- you’ll see his contributions in a number of titles on this guide. This reference book is freely accessible online via the New York Public Library. You do need a digital NYPL library card to access, any NY resident can apply at this site. There are a few Capital Region institutions that hold this title in their collection, and you may browse it if you’re able to visit in person. The NYS Library located in downtown Albany, along with the University at Albany, are two locations where this item would be available to browse. The dictionary covers terminology, along with major concepts and theories, and notable scientists who have contributed to the field, along with entries on telescopes and observatories that have advanced astronomical science through their discoveries. This book may be seen as somewhat of a hybrid between an encyclopedia and a dictionary.
Moore, P. (2003). Firefly Atlas of the universe (1st North American ed.). Firefly Books.
This 2003 edition of the Firefly Atlas of the Universe (call # 520 ATL) offers detailed maps for planets, major stars and constellations. The extensive glossary is worth taking time to review as well- astronomy and astrophysics use a lot of scientific terminology and having a robust glossary will help with any unfamiliar terms. The 2005 edition is also available to borrow via the Internet Archive (you will need to create a free account to borrow and browse). Having a bookmarked link to the Internet Archive page might be helpful so that you can return to this e-resource and borrow as needed. Both editions were published 20 years or more ago, so keep in mind more current information can be found on other resources provided in this guide.
Philip's Astronomy Encyclopedia 
Moore, P. (Ed.) (2002). Philip’s astronomy encyclopedia. Philip’s.
This comprehensive encyclopedia is freely available via the Internet Archive. While it was published over 20 years ago, this encyclopedia remains a relevant and useful reference tool for budding astronomy enthusiasts. The accessibility of this resource online is a benefit, especially if your local libraries don’t carry an extensive array of astronomy/astrophysics reference books in their collection. This is another great page to bookmark for frequent use as the encyclopedia entries may be of use as you explore other materials. Star charts are located near the end of the book. Keep in mind the year of publication, and supplement with some of the other resources listed in this guide for more current information.