This is the "Associations & Organizations" page of the "Reading/Literacy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reading/Literacy  

Last Updated: Feb 26, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.albany.edu/reading_literacy Print Guide RSS Updates

Associations & Organizations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Tutorials and Guides

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.
 

Find Library Resources

Minerva - The Library Catalog

Use Minerva to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Databases & Indexes

Use databases and indexes to find articles.
 

Associations & Organizations

American Educational Research Association (AERA)
"AERA is the most prominent international professional organization, with the primary goal of advancing educational research and its practical application. The broad range of disciplines represented by the membership includes education, psychology, statistics, sociology, history, economics, philosophy, anthropology, and political science."
Association of Literacy Educators & Researchers (ALER)
ALER is formerly College Reading Association.
International Reading Association

"..a professional organization for those involved in teaching reading to learners of all ages." It provides a range of free resources in areas of teaching tools, issues in literacy, and literacy in community.

Literacy Coaching Clearinghouse

"This site offers an array of policy and practice briefs and coaching tools for literacy coaches, teachers, administrators, and researchers. These archived materials provide ideas for practice and research."

Literacy Research Association (formerly National Reading Conference)
“NRC is a professional organization for individuals who share an interest in research and the dissemination of information about literacy and literacy instruction.” It also provides free access to archival files of Journal of Literacy Research and Yearbook.
New York State Reading Association
Provides information for members and links to related Web sites.
Reading is Fundamental (RIF)

The nation's largest children's literacy organization. Includes online resources for local RIF coordinators, educators, and parents.

ProLiteracy Worldwide

Includes national and international proliteracy programs. It's Verizon Literacy Network (VLN) is a free, online tool that uses computers and other technology to deliver information and resources to anyone who wants to improve their own literacy skills or the reading and writing skills of someone else.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact Info
University Library LI-304
University at Albany
1400 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12222
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip