New York State Statistics
- Facts, Figures and Statistics from New York State
- NYS Fun & Facts
- NYS Statistical Yearbook
- Open.NY.govUser-friendly, one-stop access to data from New York State agencies, localities, and the federal government. The website, features economic development, health, recreation, and public services information.
New York State Information on the Internet
- Checklist of Official Publications of the State of New YorkThe Checklist is a monthly compilation of New York State documents acquired by the New York State Library. Includes links to the digitized versions of the publications.
- New York State Government Information Locator ServiceThe NYS GILS provides a single point of access to information services provided by New York State Government agencies, the State Legislature and the Judiciary. The GILS site is hosted by the New York State Library.
- New York State Library - Digital CollectionsThe New York State Library is digitizing New York State government publications and making them available through their online catalog.
- New York State homepageThe official page of the state of New York includes a subject directory.
NYS Government Information in the University Libraries
The University Library was a NYS government microfiche depository from 1989 through 1994. NYS documents were received in microfiche and are housed in the Periodicals Room on the basement level of the University Library on microfiche. NYS government documents are housed to the right as you enter the Periodicals Room, on the back side of the microfiche cabinets. They are arranged by New York State documents classification number. NYS documents are listed in the University Libraries' catalog, Minerva. After 1994 NYS government information received by the University Libraries is integrated with the University Libraries collections and arranged by Library of Congress classification number.
In 2010 the New York State Library reorganized their depository system. Only a small portion of NYS government information is distributed in tangible format. Documents received and distributed by the New York State Library are listed in the New York State Checklist. Most of these titles are available full text online through the New York State Library's catalog, Excelsior. Online NYS information selected by the government information libriarian is availble via this guide.
The University Libraries have uncataloged collections of NYS government microforms. These microform collections are housed in Government Documents in the University Libraries' Periodicals Room. Collections are described in the attached document prepared by Lauren Schucker.
Government Information Librarian |
Contact Info University at Albany University Library LI-127 1400 Washington Ave Albany, New York 1222 United States Depository Library 0421-A Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Historical NYS Information
- New York State CensusArticle five of the first New York State Constitution of 1777 required that a census of its electors and inhabitants be taken "once in every seven years, after the taking of the said first census." The second New York State Constitution, 1821, mandated that an enumeration of the inhabitants be taken in 1825 and at the end of every ten years thereafter. The Census of 1925 was the last census taken by the State. The New York State Library has scanned volumes of the NYS Census.


Loading...
