Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the Reference Collection
Call Number: ULIB Ref CT 100 C8
African American National Biography
Call Number: ULIB Ref E185.96 A4466 2008
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: ULIB Ref DA 28 D4 O95 2004
Call Number: ULIB Ref DA 28 W6
Biography: An account of a person's life written, composed, or produced by another.
Source: American Heritage Dictionary of the American Language
A Dictionary of Political Biography
There are over 1,000 entries in this dictionary, which covers all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century. Each entry includes an account of the background, career, and achievements of the individual concerned.
American National Biography
Biographies of more than 17,400 people who played a significant role in the development of the United States. Includes only people who have died. Updated quarterly
Australian Dictionary of Biography
Online version, contains over 10,000 articles on 11,237 persons who were important in Australian history.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Index of names and their biographical sources, including biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias and literary criticism. Updated twice per year.
Biography Reference Bank
Biography Bank contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to present, along with thousands of images. It contains the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books published by H. W. Wilson, including all the articles from all volumes of Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and numerous biographical books on musicians and compos
Thousands of short biographies excerpted from the Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Originally published in 1973 by McGraw Hill, this authoritative set represents the first complete revision in 25 years (2004). This edition includes approximately 2,000 more entries than the first, with more women, multicultural and international coverage, bringing the total to approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods. Includes thousands of photos, a consolidated index, and more. Each Supplement adds approximately 200 new biographies.
The Political Graveyard
Biographies of more than 100,000 American politicians. Searchable by name, place, age, office or election.
Who's Alive and Who's Dead
Birth and death dates and cause of death for actors, athletes, politicians, musicians, artists, and more.