Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Sociology: START HERE!

Accessing Books

Books may be located using the Libraries' Discovery Tool.  Many titles are available as e-books, so explore multiple versions. Until further notice, physical items must be requested for curbside pickup or office delivery. Most books related to Sociology are located at the University Library.  

When using the Libraries Discovery tool, you may either search for a known item by title or author or search for materials on a given topic. In addition to searching for keywords that may appear in a book's title, you may wish to consider searching by Library of Congress Subject Headings. The list includes common subject headings for Sociology materials.

Worldcat Classic UAlbany only resource is a catalog of holdings in national and international libraries. You can request interlibrary loans from within the Worldcat catalog. 

CaDiLaC is catalog of regional Capital District holdings. It is useful if you need a resource that is held by a library to which you can easily travel.

Database Guides

These two guides can assist you with all aspects of the databases IBSS and Sociological Abstracts, including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform. 

Sociology Databases

The links below will take you to our "core" databases, but you can find information related to sociological studies by searching any of our KEY DATABASES.  

Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts

Indexing and abstracting database covering health, social service, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relation and education.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

This database indexes both core and specialized journals (2,600) and books in the social sciences. Core disciplines covered are anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, with additional coverage in other social science fields. Thirty percent of the records are in languages other than English.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Searchable by broad subject category or keyword. Most files are freely available to download and is an itegral part of the infrastructure of social science research. In order to download data, first-time UAlbany users must create a MyData account from a UAlbany computer. Once you have created an account that identifies you with UAlbany, you may access ICPSR data from off-campus and social media accounts.

PolicyMap

PolicyMap is a fully web-based Geographic Information System (GIS) and mapping product. Data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates. A complete list of GIS data available can be found in their data directory.

Sage Research Methods

Sage Research Methods provides a comprehensive array of resources related to quantitative and qualitative social science research methodologies. Included in this database are reference materials, journal articles, books, handbooks, and video which describe and explain social science research methods.

Social Sciences Full Text

Provide access to an assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Science Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Sociological Abstracts

Primary database for sociology, covering journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers.

Sociology Librarian