Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Electronic Resources for Classical Studies: How to Find Journal Literature: Databases

Databases That Provide Full Text Articles

The following services offer the option of obtaining the full text of many of the indexed articles right at your computer workstation. They may be printed, saved on a disk, or e-mailed.

Humanities Source   (1907--Present)   Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Humanities Source provides full text, plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing, for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more, Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. Full text for over 1,450 journals.

Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) Library   (1975+)   Accessible to University at Albany users only
        Archives of editorial contents of selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society, including all artwork.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete  (1990+)   Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Multidisciplinary database with selected articles available in full text. Choose Basic Search or Advanced Search. Click on Full Text to limit results to full text articles only. Among the other options for limiting are year(s) of publication and peer review. For a list of journals indexed and dates of coverage click on Choose Databases, then on Title List. To retrieve pictures, select "Images." Example: a search of the word "Roman" in the categories "Photos of places," "Historical photos," and "Maps" produced a result of 119 items.

Education Source   (1983+ Selected full text; 1994+ Abstracts; 1995+ books))   Accessible to University at Albany users only
        Indexes approximately 400 journals, about half of which offer full text retrieval online for selected years. Stresses articles about teaching classical subjects.

International Index to Black Periodicals    (1998+)    Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Includes citations, abstracts, and some full text articles from scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters.

JSTOR   [Online journal collection]    (Dates vary) Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Full text of articles from journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. Includes several journals that are relevant to Classical Studies. JSTOR does not include recent issues of the journals, but through a cooperative agreement with Project Muse, links to recent content of a selected group of journals indexed by both services are available from JSTOR. To display a list of those titles, please click on "About JSTOR" then click on "Links to recent content."

Project Muse    [Online journal collection]    (Dates vary) Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Offers access to full text articles from current and retrospective issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and other disciplines, including several journals related to Classical Studies. Browse the journal list or perform a keyword search (basic or advanced) in all fields or in specific fields.

ScienceDirect     [Online journal collection]    (Dates vary) Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Contains selected full-text articles from journals related to Archaeology and Classical Studies. Perform a keyword search using the Quick Search option, or, to view titles and contents of the journals, select Arts and Humanities or Social Science from the Subject Areas menu. To display a list of journals related to Archaeology or History, select Subject from the Sort By menu.

Sociological Abstracts  (1983+ Indexing; 1994+ Abstracting)  Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Provides international coverage of more than 520 publications in the social sciences, including titles related to Classical Studies.

Databases: Citations and/or Abstracts

Anthropology Plus   (Late 19th century+)   Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Indexes periodical articles and essays published in colloquia, festshcriften, symposia, and collections received at the Tozzer Library, Harvard University.

Art Index    (1984+)   Accessible to University at Albany users only
        Covers key international arts publications. Includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, reproductions, book reviews, and more.

Bibliography of the History of Art   (1990+)   Accessible to University at Albany users only
        Abstracts, indexes, and bibliographic citations of current publications on the history of art. Includes books, periodical articles, reviews, conference proceedings, Festschriften, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and electronic publications.

Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1908-1982   (1983+)   Accessible to University at Albany users only
        Book summaries, bibliographic data, and full text reviews from more than 8,000 journals. Covers fiction, non-fiction, children's books and reference works.

Dissertations & Theses Global   (Citations: 1861+; Citations & Abstracts: 1980+; MA Theses: 1988+) Accessible to University at Albany users only
        Perform a keyword search or browse broad subject categories for doctoral dissertations and masters theses. For dissertations published since 1997, provides citation, abstract, and the initial 24 pages of text.

Essay and General Literature Index   (1985+)   Accessible to University at Albany users only
        Provides access to essays in collections and anthologies. Covers the entire range of the humanities and social sciences.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)   (1951+)    Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Indexes both core and specialized journals and books in the social sciences. Thirty percent of the records are in languages other than English.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)   (1973+)    Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Covers international literature on the study of language and linguistics. Offers quick and advanced keyword searching as well as a thesaurus for subject searching.

PsycINFO (includes PsycARTICLES)  (1887+)    Accessible to University at Albany users only
         Useful for finding references to articles on psychological characteristics of people from ancient civilizations.