Periodical indexes are useful for finding references to journal articles. The University Libraries provide numerous electronic indexes and databases for locating articles related to Classical Studies. Some indexes provide only citations; some provide citations and abstracts. Others furnish the complete texts of articles.
This guide suggests relevant electronic indexes and databases and provides links to facilitate access to them. See INDEXES AND DATABASES FOR CLASSICAL STUDIES below for a selection of linked indexes and databases.
University at Albany library users may retrieve full text articles directly from their computer workstations (inside or outside the library) to print, save on a disk, or to e-mail to themselves. To find out if the libraries provide access to specific journals in full text online and the years of coverage, start on the Libraries' HOME PAGE. From the center column, RESEARCH TOOLS, click on Journals - Print & Online, then type the title of the journal in the search box.
If references retrieved from a periodical index lead to articles that are not available in full text online, check the journal title in the online catalog. If the libraries own the traditional print or microform version of the journal, look for the journal by call number in the Periodicals Section (in the Main Library it is on the lower level) and make a copy of the article. If the library doesn't own the journal, students and faculty members of the University at Albany may request a copy of the article by connecting to the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan system and completing the request form provided there. Please allow several weeks for interlibrary loan material to arrive.