Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Internet Resources in Classical Studies: Electronic Texts

Books and Manuscripts

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School

(Yale University Law School) Provides access to full texts of legal documents of various eras. There are a few ancient documents, and a wealth of Medieval and Renaissance sources.

The Internet Classics Archive

(Daniel C. Stevenson, MIT) Includes 441 works of classical literature in English translation by 59 different authors.

The Latin Library

(Ad Fontes Academy, VA) Offers texts by Roman authors. Click on the name of a major author or category displayed in the grid or use the drop down menu in the center of the page to search additional authors' names.

The Ovid Collection

(University of Virginia) Includes a variety of resources about the Metamorphoses. Provides a choice of Latin or a translated version of the text. In adddition to the Latin and translated texts, users may follow the link below to browse page images of a 1563 illustrated verse commentary on the Metamorphoses.

Journals

Anistoriton Journal

(Anistoriton History Library (AHL) organizing committee, Athens, Greece) Covers History, Archaeology, and Art History. Search by Keyword or browse tables of contents. (Issues available: Vol. 1, 1997+)

Archaeology Magazine

(Archaeological Institute of America) Search all articles using the keyword search function. Search or browse the online archive, which includes articles from the exclusive online section only. Index to Archaeology covers 1991-present. (Issues available: March/April 1996 +)

Bryn Mawr Classical Review

"Publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology)." (Issues available: 1990+)

Electronic Antiquity: Communicating the Classics

(Virginia Tech University) An electronic journal for classical studies and archaeology of the ancient world. (Issues available: Vol. 1, No. 1, June 1993 - Vol. 7, No. 1, Jul. 2004)

Internet Archaeology

(Council for British Archaeology) Claims to be the first fully refereed e-journal for archaeology. (Issues available: 1996+)