Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Forensic Biology - Tips for research!: Databases & Indexes

Library Quick Guides

 

                                                                                                                                                         

 

Databases

In general, journal articles and related materials on forensic biology can be found in several different subjects. The scientific aspect will be covered in biology and science databases (see below). For journal articles and related materials covering criminal justice, use the databases listed on the criminal justice page. For materials covering law, use the databases listed on the law subject page.

Biological Abstracts. Accessible to University at Albany users only Covers a wide range of biology topics including: Biochemistry, ecology, neuroscience, botany, genetics etc. Tries to be comprehensive world-wide. Covers about 4,000 journals. The Science Library also has 1926-2001 in print. [SCIENCE REF / Index QH 301 B37]

Google Scholar. Covers a wide range of subject areas, connecting to some full-text resources paid for by the University Libraries, as well as free materials. Google Scholar does not connect to everything we have in electronic or print versions, so double-check availability in our online catalog! When accessing off-campus, connect from the library web page, click on "Scholar Preferences", then type "Albany" to select "University at Albany, State University of New York").

MEDLINE.Accessible to University at Albany users only  Primary biomedical resource on PubMed. It covers about 3,900 biomedical journals. (MEDLINE with Full text (via EBSCO) Accessible to University at Albany users only is also available.)

SciFinder Scholar.Accessible to University at Albany users only  Primary chemistry source, available 1907+. SciFinder Scholar is the online version of Chemical Abstracts and includes the CAplus database, the CAS Registry file, and Medline. It contains citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations, as well as chemical substance and reaction information. Users may search it by author, subject, chemical name, registry number, or chemical structure. It requires special client software and an Internet connection. SciFinder Scholar is available on workstations near the Science Library Reference desk. The client software is also available to University at Albany faculty, students, and staff. For instructions on downloading SciFinder Scholar client software, please contact Michael Knee.

Scopus. Accessible to University at Albany users only Scopus indexes articles in over 15,000 journals from over 4,000 publishers. Cited author searches are a key feature of this resource. Conference proceedings, book series and patents are also covered.

Additional databases and indexes in biology...

Subject Guide