*
indicates that a resource is only available for
current faculty, staff and students of the University at Albany. See "Off-Campus
Access Instructions..." for information...
Dictionary of Earth Science (Oxford). 6,000
entries cover a broad spectrum of subjects, from geology to climate change.
Encyclopedia of Earth. The
Encyclopedia of Earth covers a wide range of earth science topics, from the
earth, to its natural environments, to water profiles of selected countries.
Well-written articles can be browsed alphabetically or by topic.
Geologylink Geologic Glossary. A
glossary of geology terms from Houghton Mifflin Company.
Glossary of Physical Oceanography and Related Disciplines.
Extensive glossary of terms from the
fields of oceanography, paleoceanography, meteorology, climatology, geology,
numerical analysis, signal processing and statistics, compiled by Steven K.
Baum of Texas Center for Climate Studies, Texas A&M University. See the preface for more
information about the contents of the site.
Glossary of Remote Sensing Terms. Natural Resources Canada provides a searchable glossary with over 1000 terms.
IATE: InterActive Terminology for Europe. Translates between 24 European languages, including: Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish, & Swedish.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy. Broad
coverage of the science and technology of energy, in over 250 articles.
Oxford Companion to the Earth. A thousand
medium-sized entries cover a wide range of earth science topics. Geology and
climatology are covered, as are biographical entries.
