Skip to main content
Home

Biological Sciences: A Guide to Web Resources: Genetics

Genetics

The Borrelia burgdorferi Genome Database (BBDB)

The Institute for Genomic Research has recently released sequence data & related annotation for Borrelia burgdorferi.

Dog Genome Resources

The dog genome, which was sequenced by the Whitehead Institute/MIT Center for Genome Research, is available at this National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Web site and mirrored at other sites around the world. Other dog genetics resources are also available.

E. coli Genome Project

The Data and Analysis subsection is the centerpiece of this site with 11 browsable ORF tables that provide information on 12 characteristics of each gene; an additional RNA table includes information on all non-protein encoding RNA species; all tables can be downloaded.

GeneMap'99

A gene map of the human genome posted by National Center for Biotechnology Information of the National Library of Medicine; it shows the positions, associated data, & annotations for more than 30,000 human gene-based markers.

Genetic and Physical Maps of the Mouse Genome

View integrated genetic maps & physical maps with STS-content data.

Genetic Maps of the Rat Genome

Genetic linkage maps of the rat resulting from the integration of two F2 intercrosses; available as viewable images, PICT, & PostScript files.

GeneticsAccessible to University at Albany users only

Edited by Richard Robinson, this 4-volume encyclopedia contains a comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of genetics.

The Human Gene Map

A gene map of the human genome.

Human Genome Central

Features links to ancillary information and tools, enabling researchers to assess useful information such as the overlaps between clones, the correct genomic location of each clone, an integrated genomic sequence that merges the individual clones, and annotation of gene content.

Human Genome Database from The Institute for Genomic Research

Access to cDNA/EST (human genome) sequence & related data as well as other molecular biology databases.

Human Genome Project Information (genomics.energy.gov)

The aim of this site is to disseminate information about human genome projects. It also furnishes general research information on genetics and bioethics, a genetics tutorial, a glossary, a list of acronyms, a FAQ section, news, and an extensive list of links to other genome Web sites.

Human Genome Variation Database

HGVbase seeks to list and summarize known sequence variations in the human genome, and facilitate research into how genotypes affect common diseases, drug responses, and other complex phenotypes.

KEGG: Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes Release

The KEGG Project is an attempt to bridge the gap between the genes and their functional implications; it contains a searchable database of computerized information pathways that consist of interacting genes or molecules.

MAP: Mouse Atlas Project

Available from UCLA, the goal of MAP is "to develop a dynamic, probabilistic atlas of the adult and developing C57BL/6J mouse. Users can import their own data into the atlas and use the same tools to visualize, compare and measure domains of gene expression in normal, gene-targeted knock-out, or transgenic mice."

The Mendel Database

Searchable database containing more than 20,000 genes, which can be translated into proteins, organized into about 2,000 gene families based on their sequence homology; typical entries include gene family number & gene family name, gene & gene product descriptions & synonyms, and accession numbers with links to SWISS-PROT & EMBL.

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man

An authoritative reference for information on the inheritance of human characteristics. The database can be searched for information on any human characteristic that might be genetically influenced. The result of a search will lead to a summary of what is known about the inheritance of that characteristic and references will be provided.

Rat Genome Map

The Rat Map Viewer shows the locations of simple sequence length polymorphism markers for genetic and radiation hybrid maps. Data can be searched by marker name, marker alias, or chromosome position.

Subject Guide