Skip to main content
Home

Biological Sciences: A Guide to Web Resources: Electronic Books

Electronic Books

The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online

This site contains the major works of the English naturalist Charles Darwin (1809-1882). It is the largest collection of his work ever assembled, and includes searchable text pages and images of both publications and handwritten manuscripts. Descriptions of Darwin's Beagle specimens are included along with first editions of Journal of Researches (1839), The Descent of Man (1871), The Zoology of the Voyage of H.M.S. Beagle (1838-43), and the 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th editions of the Origin of Species. Additional materials will be forthcoming.

Gray's Anatomy

The 20th edition (1918) of Henry Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body.

National Academy Press - Biology

A collection of freely available reports from the National Academy Press.

The Online Books Page: Call Numbers Starting With QH-QR

Access the full text of biological sciences books.

The Origin of Species

The first edition of Charles Darwin's contribution to evolution.

Wikibooks: Biology Bookshelf

Wikibooks is a collection of open content textbooks. Open content means that these textbooks are freely available online. A textbook is defined by Wikibooks as "a manual of instruction or a standard book in any branch of study. They are produced according to the demand of educational institutions." The Biology Bookshelf contains introductory textbooks, subfields, biology courses, interdisciplinary fields, and other topics.

Subject Guide