Skip to main content
Home

Biological Sciences: A Guide to Web Resources: Ecology & Environment

Ecology & Environment

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North AmericaAccessible to University at Albany users only

Arranged taxonomically, Beacham's contains data, habitats, and ecosystems of more than 1,200 endangered species. Each entry includes introductory and summary information, an image, distribution, threats, conservation and recovery efforts, and references.

e.hormone: Hormones and the Environment

Hosted by the Center for Bioenvironmental Research at Tulane and Xavier universities, e.hormone provides access to news, events, educational opportunities, research, and resources about hormones in the environment.

Environmental Data Registry (EDR)

EDR is a comprehensive catalog of major data collections maintained by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

Environmental EncyclopediaAccessible to University at Albany users only

The third edition (2003) of the Environmental Encyclopedia "provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. The articles are written in a nontechnical style and furnish current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible."

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species (2006)

Listing of the more than 11,000 species of the Earth's plants and animals that face a high risk of extinction in the near future.

NatureServe

A source for authoritative conservation information on plants, animals, & ecological communities of the U.S. & Canada; it provides in-depth information on conservation status, conservation needs, life histories, & distribution.

Terrestrial Vegetation of the United States

This site provides a standardized listing of all natural vegetation types representing variations in biological diversity at the community level and identifies communities requiring protection.

Subject Guide