Skip to main content
Home

Biological Sciences: A Guide to Web Resources: Birds

Birds

The A.O.U. Check-list of North American Birds

This is the online version of the American Ornithologists' Union's 7th edition (1998) of its check-list. It covers species from the Arctic through Panama, including the West Indies and Hawaiian Islands. Over 2,000 species of birds are listed by Order.

Audubon's (Multimedia) Birds of America

Online version of Birds of America by John James Audubon; includes the full text, color plates, figures, U.S. state birds, & bird calls.

Bird Checklists of the United States

A compilation of bird checklists developed by numerous sources around the United States indicating the seasonal occurrence of birds in state, federal, and private management areas and nature preserves.

Bird Families of the World

It classifies the bird families of the world according to the Handbook of the Birds of the World. 202 families are listed.

International Field Guides

International Field Guides contains a searchable database to field guides for plants, animals, and other objects in North America and around the world. It may also be browsed by by type of organism and region covered. This site was created by Diane Schmidt, Biology Librarian at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Migratory Bird Center

From the Smithsonian National Zoological Park, this site provides broad and accessible information on migratory birds that breed in the U.S. and Canada, and spend the winter in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Neotropical Birds

From Cornell's Lab of Ornithology, Neotropical Birds provides life history information on birds from Central and South America.

The North American Breeding Bird Survey: Results and Analysis 1966-2013

This is a 46-year summary of the effort to monitor breeding birds across North America. The site maintains 3,700 active BBS surveys of which nearly 2,900 are surveyed annually, and includes continent-wide range maps, population trends, identification tips, and general summaries for more than 200 species of birds.

Subject Guide