Skip to main content
Home

Biological Sciences: A Guide to Web Resources: Bioethics

Bioethics

Bioethics Resources on the Web

The National Institute of Health's extensive clearinghouse of bioethics resources available on the Web.

Bioethics.net

Bioethics.net is the home for The American Journal of Bioethics. It provides access to The Journal along with news and opinion.

Encyclopedia of BioethicsAccessible to University at Albany users only

The third edition of the Encyclopedia of Bioethics is a complete revision. It contains 448 articles covering a broad range of bioethics issues, from cloning to nanotechnology. Many articles begin with a history of the topic.

A Guide to Bioethics Resources on the Web

This guide provides access to bioethics resources in these categories:  quick facts, university pages, U.S. resources, international and non-U.S. resources, Christian bioethics, and news.

The Hastings Center

The Hastings Center is "a nonpartision research institute dedicated to bioethics and the public interest." Its publications, research, and news are made available, along with information on selected bioethics topics. The site is fully searchable.

Human Genome Project Information (genomics.energy.gov)

The aim of this site is to disseminate information about human genome projects. It also furnishes general research information on genetics and bioethics, a genetics tutorial, a glossary, a list of acronyms, a FAQ section, news, and an extensive list of links to other genome Web sites.

Kennedy Institute of Ethics: Library and Information Services

A Georgetown University site that provides access to numerous bioethics resources including resources on special topics, databases, bibliographies, and customized bibliograhies by request.

President's Council on Bioethics

The Council advises the President on bioethical issues emerging from technological advances. The site includes background material, transcripts, and reports. It is arranged by topic of concern and includes subjects like age-retardation, cloning, death, genetics, health care, nanotechnology, organ transplantation, and stem cells.

Reference UniverseAccessible to University at Albany users only

Reference Universe is a master index to the contents of reference books. Users can search article titles and back-of-the-book indexes of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. For chapters or articles in ebooks owned by the University Libraries, Reference Universe links to the full text. For chapters or articles in print books owned by the University Libraries, Reference Universe links to the University Libraries' catalog record.

Subject Guide