Skip to main content
Home

Biological Sciences: A Guide to Web Resources: Courses & Tutorials

Courses, Lectures, and Tutorials

The Big Picture Book of Viruses

This site serves as a catalog of virus pictures on the Internet as well as a resource to information about viruses.

BioComputing Hypertext Coursebook

A course offered on the Web that covers the interaction between biology & computer science.

Biodiversity and Conservation

A comprehensive introduction & learning aid for biological conservation; also include links to resources on the Web.

Bioinformatics Tutorials Series (BITS)

A joint effort of the MIT Engineering and Science Libraries and Harvard's Countway Library of Medicine, the Bioinformatics Tutorials Series (BITS) is a growing collection of bioinformatics tutorials in video format.

Biology Labs On-Line

This site provides several interative biological simulations and exercises. Among the offerings are Fly Lab, Evolution Lab, Mitochondria Lab, Leaf Lab, and Enzyme Lab. Users must register.

The Biology Project

An interactive online resource for learning biology; includes sections on biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, human biology, Mendelian genetics, immunology, molecular biology as well as links to Web resources.

Cells Alive

This site contains several activities to help users understand the basics of cellular biology. It also has three interactive quizzes on cell structure, cell function, microbes, and the immune system.

DNA from the Beginning

This is animated primer to the basics of DNA, genes, and heredity. Each section contains a quiz to test your understanding.

Human Anatomy On-line

Offers 2 tutorials: the "Interactive Anatomy" version for exploration on your own and the "Anatomy Lesson" for a guided tour.

Introduction to the Aves: The Birds

This is a learning resource on the paleontology of birds; it covers fossil record, life history and ecology, systematics, & morphology.

MendelWeb

Based on Gregor Mendel's 1865 paper "Versuche über Pflanzen-Hybriden" and a revised version of the English translation "Experiments in Plant Hybridization," MendelWeb contains a wealth of information about this foundational paper in genetics, and the context of Mendel's research and its rediscovery.

MIT Biology Hypertextbook

This online textbook is designed to supplement the MIT Introductory Biology course materials and provide additional tools to learn introductory biology.

Molecular Models for Biochemistry

Developed to complement standard biochemistry textbooks, this site contains interactive 3-D images of molecules and macromolecules. Chime or RasMol are required to view the images.

Neuroscience Tutorial

An illustrated guide to the essential basics of clinical neuroscience.

Open Colleges 3D Brain Map

This is an interactive map of the brain; spin the brain, click on an area, and learn about that area.

Optical Microscopy Primer

Developed at Florida State University, this set of tutorials covers microscopy and its related principles. It starts with the basics, but covers several advanced topics.

Peptide Guide

This resources provides a basic introduction to the field of peptide chemistry along with some applications of peptides. It includes an overview of amino acids, a protein builder that constructs text representations for simple peptides and proteins, a peptide mass calculator, and a glossary as well as information about bonds and synthesis.

Primer on Molecular Genetics

This primer was prepared by Denise Casey at Human Genome Management Information System of the Oak Ridge National Laboratory; it is available in PDF, HTML, and Palm Pilot (PDB) formats.

SciTalks: Biology

Launching with over 1,000 entries, SciTalks is a repository of science lectures and talks from all over the world. The lectures (talks) range in length from brief to lengthy, and from basic or humorous to complex and serious. SciTalks can be browsed by scientific fields, or the entire collection can be searched.

Viremia Page

This site provides students with interactive learning & self-assessment in the field of medical virology.

The Virtual Embryo

The centerpiece of this site is Dynamic Development, a modular resource to facilitate learning in developmental biology.

Virus Ultra Structure

Intended to serve as an introductory manual for students of virology.

World Lecture Hall

A worldwide listing of courses in Anatomy, Biochemistry, Biology/Botany, Biotechnology, Environmental Science, Microbiology, Neuroscience, and Zoology.

Subject Guide