Skip to main content
Home

Biological Sciences: A Guide to Web Resources: Starting Points

Starting Points, Subject Collections, & Metasites

All the Virology on the WWW

Well-organized collection of virology-related Web sites.

BiologyBrowser

Produced by BIOSIS, BiologyBrowser provides links to a large collection of life sciences information. It can be browsed or searched by organism, subject, or geography; or the entire site can be searched.

BioTech: Life Sciences Resources and Reference Tools

Directory of biotechnology data & information from around the world.

The E. coli Index

Offers a large assortment of E. coli resources including links to journals, societies, publishers, universities, & employment opportunities.

Entomology Index of Internet Resources

A directory and search engine of insect-related Internet resources, including bibliographies, checklists, databases, directories, electronic publications, images, sounds, institutions, jobs, listservs, online courses, and software.

EnviroLink Library

Comprehensive resource guide to environmental information available on the Internet.

Environmental Sites on the Internet

A metasite that provides a comprehensive array of environmental science information available on the Internet.

Internet Directory for Botany

An index to botanical information on the Internet; browse the alphabetical or category lists or use the site's search engine.

Microscopy and Imaging Resources on the WWW

Lists microscopy-related links in the following categories: beginning topics, advanced topics, Internet resources, interesting and educational, & professional societies.

Neurosciences on the Internet

Contains a searchable & browsable index of neuroscience resources available on the Web, including email lists, ftp sites, gopher, & telnet resources; neurobiology, neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry, psychology, cognitive science, & information on human neurological diseases are covered.

Pedro's BioMolecular Research Tools

A comprehensive collection of research tools for molecular biologists including databases, guides, and links to other useful WWW sites.

Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book

A subject oriented internet resource guide for plant pathology, applied entomology, & all related fields.

The Protein Kinase Resource

Compendium of information on the protein kinase family of enzymes; includes tools for structural & computational analyses as well as links to related information maintained by others.

Scott's Botanical Links

Two sites in one: a "link of the day" archive, consisting of rated and annotated sites & a subject hierarchy (Site Index) containing over forty topics including cell biology, horticulture, dendrology, & phytopathology.

Virtual Library of Ecology & Biodiversity

As part of the WWW Virtual Library it provides access ecology and biodiversity sites including links to resources about global sustainability, history of life, endangered species, captive breeding, exotic introductions, pollution, human population, habitats, protected areas, values of biodiversity, national issues, U.S. state issues, U.S. government and legislation, international treaties, involvement, biodiversity and conservation, and conservation education.

Subject Guide