Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Urban and Regional Planning: A Research Guide: Reference Materials--Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Featured Reference Book

Library Quick Links

Reference Books--Print

Encyclopedia of American Urban History, David Goldfield, ed.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2007.  Entries include biographies; profiles of select cities; and descriptions of major topics in urban history.   [ULIB REF HT 123 E49 2007]

Dictionary of American Communal and Utopian History, by Robert S. Fogarty.  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1980. Contains brief biographies of people who had critical roles in the development of utopian communities. Also includes short overviews of more than 200 utopian communites. [ULIB HX 653 F65 BldgOnly]  

Encyclopedia of Housing, Willem Van Vliet, ed.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 1998.   The Encyclopedia of Housing highlights significant topics about contemporary issues that affect housing. Though the main focus of the entries made by eminent researchers and analysts is the United States, many of the authors make reference to policies, programs, or research from other countries, especially European housing policy research.  [ULIB REF HD 7287 E53 1998, DEWEY REF HD 7287 E53 1998]

Encyclopedia of the City, Roger Caves, ed. New York: Routledge, 2005.   The Encyclopedia of the City is useful for getting an overview of topics related to urban issues. Entries are written by major theoreticians and practitioners in urban planning and related disciplines.  [ULIB REF HT 108.5 E63 2005]

Encyclopedia of the Third World, by George Thomas Kurian. New York: Facts on File, 1992.  The Encyclopedia of the Third World describes the dominant political, economic and social systems of 122 countries of the world.  [ULIB REF HC 59.7 K87 1992]

Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs, Neil Larry Shumsky, ed.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998. This two volume work offers about 500 entries by scholars in a variety of disciplines. It provides insight into the diversity, culture and history of American cities. [ULIB REF HT 123 E5 1998]

Encyclopedia of Urban Planning, Arnold Whittick, ed.  Huntington, NY: R. E. Krieger Pub. Co., 1980. This encyclopedia is international in scope and covers planning in forty-eight of the principal countries of the world where systems of planning legislation and administration are maintained. Planning in each country is broadly considered, with a similar division of subjects so that comparisons of planning legislation, administration, practice, and recent history can readily be made.  [ULIB REF HT 166 E5 1980]

Encyclopedia of World Cities, by Immanuel Ness.  Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 1999. This work presents entries on 130 major international cities included for their cultural, historical, economic, and political significance.  [ULIB REF HT 108.5 N47 1999]

Urban Sprawl: A Reference Handbook, by Donald C. Williams.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000. This work offers an introduction which places urban sprawl in historical context, an outline of the current debate over controlling sprawl, a chronology of development patterns and land use policies, biographical sketches, and bibliographies. [ULIB HT 384 U5 W55 2000]

Online Reference Sources

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Priscilla Seaman
Contact:
University at Albany, SUNY
University Library, LI-228
518-442-3546