Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Internet Resources for Art: General Interest

General Interest

Ad*Access

Project of the Digital Scriptorium at Duke University, contains over 7000 advertisements, mainly from the U.S., printed in magazines and newspapers between 1911 and 1955.

Artcyclopedia: The Guide to Museum-Quality Art on the Internet

Collection of exhibits and museums worldwide; site is searchable by artist.

Arts Journal: The Daily Digest of Arts & Cultural Journalism

Daily compilation from newspapers, magazines, and publications about art & culture from around the world.

ArtServe

Visual history of art and architecture.

ArtSource

A portal for selective Internet resourses for Art and Architecture.

AskART

Extensive directory of information about American Artists; also contains directories of museums, dealers, professional organizations and indexes artists by categories of interest.

The Book Arts Web

A large collection of links related to book arts(books by artists designed as fine art).

The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture

Electronic resources with a focus on the decorative arts, particularly Early American; contains e-text, journals, image databases, and more.

The Getty

This site provides access to all departments of the Getty Center, including the Museum, Research Institute, Conservation Institute, Grant Program, and Leadership Institute; the Explore Art section has access to works of art, biographies, glossary definitions, and over 200 video clips.

Museum of Web Art (MOWA)

Web site dedicated to Web-specific art maintained by Amy Stone.

International Center of Photography

The International Center of Photography (ICP) is the world’s leading institution dedicated to the practice and understanding of photography and the reproduced image in all its forms.

Shakespeare Illustrated

Collection of nineteenth-century paintings, criticisms, and productions of Shakespeare's plays and their influences on one another.

Web Gallery of Art

A collection of over 13,500 digital reproductions of European painting and sculptures spanning from 1150 until 1800, many with commentary.

World Wide Arts Resources

Profiles 22,000 contributors to the visual arts including individuals from Canada and Mexico.

NYPL Digital Gallery

The New York Public Library Gallery is a collection of over 275,000 digital images including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, rare prints, and more.