Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Internet Resources for Art: Art History

Art History

Archives of American Art from the Smithsonian

With over 20 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America.chronologically and geographically organized collection of Art History links.

Best of History Websites: Art History

A chronologically and geographically organized collection of Art History links.

Dictionary of Art Historians

Biographical dictionary of art historians, museum directors, and scholars of art; indexes art historians from major art historiographies (bibliography included).

The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Timeline of Art History

A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world. Currently includes over 20,000 pages consisting of 300 chronological narratives, 750 special topic essays, and 5000 color illustrations of Museum works of art. Also includes maps, comparative works of art, and site photography. A comprehensive index, organized by subject, special topic, artist, and accession number, is also available.

Mother of all Art History

A comprehensive compilation of links pages maintained by the University of Michigan Department of Art History.

Return to Top