Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Chemistry: A Guide to Non-Library Web Resources: Webcasts

Webcasts

ACS Webinars

Developed by the American Chemical Society, ACS Webinars contain archived video presentations by subject matter experts.  There are 4 channels:  career, professional growth, business & innovation, and joy of science.  By joining an email list, you will be notified of and can attend new live webinars.

American Chemical Society Meeting Presentations

Synced audio and slides from selected ACS meeting presentations are freely available.  The presentations can be browsed by ACS division, speaker, or date; or searched by keywords, speaker, or chairperson.

Beautiful Chemical Reactions

Created at the University of Science & Technology of China, Beautiful Chemical Reactions is a video that displays the beauty of chemistry in these categories:  metal displacement, precipitation, chemical garden, crystallization, color change, bubbling reactions, dancing fluorescent droplets, and smoke.

Chemistry World Podcasts

Based on the Royal Society of Chemistry's Chemistry World magazine, these podcasts, which run 30 to 40 minutes long, summarize important information from the magazine. The podcasts are in MP3 format and there is an archives back to 2006.  There are 2 other podcast series Chemistry in Its Element:  Compounds and Chemistry in Its Element:  Interactive Periodic Table, which provide information about specific compounds and elements.

Distillations

From the Chemical Heritage Foundation, Distillations is a weekly podcast on the past, present, and future of chemistry. Its purpose is to help gain an historical perspective on current scientific issues through podcast interviews, features, commentaries, and reviews.

DnaTube

DnaTube is similar to YouTube, but covers scientific research, lectures, and seminars in video format. Their goal is "to contribute science by generating a self-growing community who shares their scientific experiences."

InChI Videos

Developed by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), InChI is an abbreviation for International Chemical Identifier.  It is a textural identifier for chemical substances, machine and human readable, and provides a means to search for chemical subtances on the Web and  in databases.  These YouTube videos on the InChI Trust Channel describe InChI and its uses.

Learning Chemistry:  Enhancing Learning and Teaching

From the Royal Society of Chemistry, this website contains videos on chemistry lab methods.

The Periodic Table of Videos

From the University of Nottingham, The Periodic Table of Videos is a collection of short, informative videos about each of the elements in the Periodic Table of the Elements.

Science Elements

From the American Chemical Society (ACS), Science Elements offers brief webcasts on cutting-edge discoveries described in ACS journals. In addition to chemistry, ACS journals cover topics in fields like medicine, health, nutrition, energy, and the environment.

ScienceCinema
ScienceCinema uses innovative audio indexing and speech recognition technology to help locate videos produced by the U.S. Department of Energy national laboratories and research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise video segments where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timeline. Users can select and play the video segments. Currently, there are current over 3,000 speech-indexed videos in the collection.
 
SciVee
The goal of SciVee is to advance the dissemination of scientific and technical knowledge by making research more visible.  Researchers can promote their work by uploading video presentations that serve as more approachable guides to their research.  SciVee offers the capability to synchronize video with text-based documents.  This capability can be used to create PubCasts, PosterCasts, PaperCasts, and SlideCasts.  SciVee is searchable and can be browsed by broad subject.
 
Voices of Inorganic Chemistry

As part of the 50th anniversary celebration of the ACS journal Inorganic Chemistry, this site contains video presentations of chemists who have helped to shape the field of inorganic chemistry.

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943