Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Chemistry: A Guide to Web Resources: Chemical Safety

Chemical Safety

Chemical Safety Videos:
  • Dow Lab Safety Academy from Dow Chemical, it contains a "digital learning environment that shares Dow's best-in-class industrial safety culture and practices in a quick and accessible format." It includes 4 modules:  Orientation & Training; Specialized Topics; Plan, Evaluate, Execute, and Sustainable Safety Culture.  Users must agree to a disclaimer agreement.
  • Laboratory Safety Videos from UC San Diego.
Pistoia Alliance Chemical Safety Library (CSL)

The Pistoia Alliance Chemical Safety Library (CSL) provides unique crowd sourced data content containing hazardous reactions that can be used to alert scientists to potential dangerous experiments. CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society, is committed to increasing safety in the lab and has provided this open access platform to serve scientists worldwide.

ChemView

Developed by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the goal of ChemView is to identify the risks of chemicals used in consumer and industrial applications.  The database can be searched by chemical name or CAS registry number, and narrowed by selecting use, chemical category, and effects.  The results include data submitted to the EPA, EPA assessments, and EPA actions.

Haz-Map: Occupational Exposure to Hazardous Agents

Haz-Map is an occupational toxicology database that ties together three types of information: hazardous agents, occupational diseases, and high risk jobs. The database may be entered using one of these types of information.

Household Products Database

The Household Products Database links consumer products to health effects listed in Safety Data Sheets.  Find out the ingredients in a product and their health effects.  Search the database or browse by product category, product name, or manufacturer

Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary (LCSS) in PubChem

Based on the format described in Prudent Practices in the Laboratory: Handling and Management of Chemical Hazards, LCSS contains chemical hazard and safety information in the records of PubChem compounds.

Identifying and Evaluating Hazards in Research Laboratories

Developed by the American Chemical Society, this online report in PDF format serves as guidelines and best practices for chemical hazard analyis in academic chemistry laboratories. 

Niosh Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards

Online version of the popular chemical safety handbook, searchable by name and CAS number.

Vermont SIRI MSDS Collection

Search for & retrieve Materials Safety Data Sheets.

Where to Find Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet

This site is a gateway to numerous Web sites that make their material safety data sheets freely available.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943