Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Chemistry: A Guide to Non-Library Web Resources: Biographies & History

Biographies

Biographical Memoirs of Fellows of the Royal Society
 
Biographies of Chemists

This Web site provides basic biographical information on important chemists.

Chemical Genealogy Database

The Chemical Genealogy Database traces the lineage of Ph.D. chemists via the chemist's Ph.D. advisor or mentor. Birth date, death date, highest non-honorary degree, degree date, degree place, degree advisor, scientific accomplishments, and references from which the information was compiled are included.

Eminent Organic Chemist Videos
Video interviews with organic chemists provided by the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry.

FECS Millennium Project: Celebration of 100 Distinguished European Chemists from the Chemical Revolution to the 21st Century

Portraits, brief biographical blurbs, and web links relating to one hundred great chemists from the eighteenth through the twentieth centuries.

Obituaries and Biographical Notes

Obituaries and biographical notes published in Angewandte Chemie (1888- ), Chemische Berichte (1918-1997), the European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry (1998), Helvetica Chimica Acta (1918-1992), Liebigs Annalen (1975-1997), and the European Journal of Organic Chemistry (1998- ) are listed on this page.

History

Chronology of Chemical Information Science

Detailed chronologies of the development of chemical information in various areas, including chemical symbols and nomenclature, abstracting and indexing services, and chemical information on the Internet.

From Alchemy to Chemistry: Five Hundred Years of Rare and Interesting Books

Online exhibit from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Rare Book Room.

A History of Mass Spectrometry

This Web site, created by the Scripps Research Institute, not only traces the history of mass spectrometry but also covers its background principles.

Linus Pauling and the Nature of the Chemical Bond: A Documentary History

The Special Collections unit at the University of Oregon Libraries has created this documentary history site that narrates the incredible achievement of Linus Pauling and others in the discovery of the nature of the chemical bond. It contains over 800 documents, photographs, audio clips, and video excerpts.

Linus Pauling and the Race for DNA: A Documentary History

The Special Collections unit at the University of Oregon Libraries has created this documentary history that chronicles the pursuit of the discovery of DNA. It contains over 800 documents, photographs, audio clips, and video excerpts.

National Historic Chemical Landmarks

This Web site, hosted by the American Chemical Society, lists the places that have been designated as U.S. historic chemical landmarks. The places, discoveries, and achievements are described.

The Oesper Collections in the History of Chemistry, University of Cincinnati

The Oesper Collections at the University of Cincinnati consist of three parts: the Apparatus Museum, the rare Books and Journals collection, and the historical Portraits and Prints collection.  In addition, Museum Booklets contain photographs of Museum instruments and apparatus, and provide a short history of the instrument or technique.

Science History Institute

Center for the study of the history of the chemical and molecular sciences. Allows online searching of the catalog of their 80,000 volume Othmer Library and provides an excellent list of "Sites of Chemical and Historical Interest."

Selected Classic Papers from the History of Chemistry

Arranged by subject, this Web site contains or provides links to seminal papers and book excerpts from the history of chemistry. Images and biographical sketches are also offered.

This Week in the History of Chemistry

Milestones in the history of chemistry along with links to additional information.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943