Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Mathematics & Statistics: A Guide to Web Resources: Online Books

Online Books & Conference Proceedings

AMS Books Online

The American Mathematical Society presents a growing colleciton of freely available, online mathematics books.

AMS Digital Mathematics Registry

Hosted by the American Mathematical Society, the aim of AMS Digital Mathematics Registry "is to provide centralized access to collections of digitized publications in the mathematical sciences" and related areas like computer science. This includes both journals and journal-like book series. The resource list can be sorted by title or source (publisher). For every title listed, there's an indication whether it is freely accessible, a subscription is needed, or it is a combination of both.

Concepts and Applications of Inferential Statistics

This online statistics textbook contains 17 chapters of basic and advanced topics.

Cornell University Library Historical Mathematics Monographs

This collection contains the full text of over 500 mathematics books with expired copyrights. The collection may be searched or browsed. The full text of the Cornell collection as well as the full text from the University of Michigan and Göttingen collections may be searched using two search interfaces: Cornell's Distributed Digital Library of Mathematical Monographs Collection and the Multi-Repository Mathematics Collections from the University of Michigan.

DML: Digital Mathematics Library: Retrodigitized Mathematics Journals and Monographs

Based on a section in "The Digital Mathematics Library" by Allyn Jackson, appearing the Notices of the AMS 50 (8) 2003, this site lists retrodigitzed journals and books. The list may be sorted by author, title, repository, or journal.

Electronic Journal of Differential Equations: Monographs

The Electronic Journal of Differential Equations hosts a growing collection of textbooks and expository articles.

Elements of Abstract and Linear Algebra

This textbook by Edwin H. Connell covers abstract algebra in general, with a focus on linear algebra.

EMIS: The Electronic Library of Mathematics: Mathematical Monographs and Lecture Notes

From the European Mathematical Information Service (EMIS) Electronic Library of Mathematics (ELibM), this site hosts a growing collection of monographs and lecture notes.

ESAIM: Proceedings and Surveys (European Series in Applied and Industrial Mathematics)

Published by the Société de Mathématiques Appliquées et Industrielles, this site contains all of the Proceedings beginning with volume 1.

Euclid's Elements

Contains the text of the 13 books of this classical treatise, illustrated with geometry applets; the text is based on Sir Thomas Little Heath's edition which he translated from J. L. Heiberg's definitive edition in Greek.

EuDML:  The European Digital Mathematics Library

Created by a consortium, EuDML is an open access collection of journal articles, books, and multivolume works published in Europe.  Over half of the collection is in English, however, other European languages are represented.  There are basic and advanced search capabilities, and browse by subject and browse by journal features.  The earliest publication is from 1584.

EULER

European Libraries Electronic Resources (EULER) in mathematical sciences provides searching capability to find resources such as books, pre-prints, Web sites, abstracts, proceedings, serials, technical reports, and thesis.

Geometry & Topology Monographs

This series includes research monographs, refereed conference proceedings, and similar collections.

Göttinger Digitalisierungs Zentrum (GDZ): Mathematical Literature Collection

GDZ is a retrospective digitization project of library materials as part of an initiative to build a German digital research library. The Mathematical Literature Collection contains journals and monographs.

National Academy Press - Mathematical Sciences and Statistics

A collection of freely available reports from the National Academy Press.

Notre Dame Mathematical Lectures

This series is freely available on Project Euclid. It includes 13 lectures on mathematics delivered at the University of Notre Dame between 1941 and 1990. The series as well as individual books are fully searchable. Nine of the lectures are available in paper format in the Science Library.

The Online Books Page: Call Numbers Starting With QA

Access the full text of computer science and mathematics books.

Online Mathematics Textbooks

George Cain of the School of Mathematics at Georgia Institute of Technology has assembled this set of links to over 60 online mathematical textbooks.

PlanetMath

PlanetMath is collaborative, online collection of mathematical knowledge. Its main feature is an encyclopedia, but it also includes research papers, books, expositions, and discussion forums.

The University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection

This is a growing collection of 19th and early 20th century books selected from the University of Michigan mathematics collection. The collection may be searched or browsed. The full text of the University of Michigan collection as well as the full text from the Cornell University and Göttingen collections may be search using two search interfaces: the Distributed Digital Library of Mathematical Monographs Collection from the University of Michigan and Cornell's Historical Math Monographs.

Wikibooks: Mathematics Bookshelf

Wikibooks is a collection of open content textbooks. Open content means that these textbooks are freely available online. A textbook is defined by Wikibooks as "a manual of instruction or a standard book in any branch of study. They are produced according to the demand of educational institutions." The Mathematics Bookshelf includes basic math textbooks as well as books on foundations, analysis, linear algebra, advanced algebra, geometry and topology, differential equations, applied mathematics, and others.

Subject Guide

Kathleen Flynn's picture
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943