Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Mathematics & Statistics: A Guide to Web Resources: Courses & Tutorials

Courses, Tutorials, Lectures, & Workshops

Calculus on the Web

Developed by members of the Mathematics Department at Temple University, this Website contains practice problems with immediate feedback about the answer and hints when the answer is incorrect. The site is divided into the following sections (books): precalculus, calculus I, calculus II, calculus III, linear algebra, number theory, and abstract algebra. There are indexes to each section.

The Calculus Page

The Calculus Page contains resources for students taking beginning and intermediate level calculus, including problem sets with solutions and sample exams.

The Fields Institute: Lecture Audio and Slides

This Website contains the audio and slides from lectures, workshops, conferences, and courses given by scientists from around the world at the Fields Institute. The lectures are arranged by date and lecture title, and cover 2000-2012.

FieldsLive Video Archive

From the Fields Institute, the archive contains courses, lectures, colloquium, seminars, and workshops. The Video Archive covers from 2012 forward, and continues the Lecture Audio and Slides Website which covers 2000-2012.

Fractals, Chaos

This resource on fractals and chaos provides examples of many different kinds and classes of fractals, including brief explanations. There is also an introduction to fractals covering the underlying principles and connection to chaos theory.

Fractal Geometry

This resource on fractals supplements a first course in fractal geometry.

Gallery of Mathematics

The Gallery of Mathematics is a collection of descriptions, pictures, animations, and examples of many mathematical curiosities.

Game Theory.net: Lecture Notes

Links to lecture notes from courses on game theory and applied game theory are provided. Basic information on the course name, professor, institution, special topics, and academic level are included.

The Geometry Center

A site devoted to geometry that includes interactive applications, a visual archive, formulas, and electronic resources

Geometry from the Land of the Incas

This Euclidean geometry site contains a mix of problems, theorems, proofs, quizzes, quotes, and scientific speculation.

Graphics for the Calculus Classroom

This Web site from the University of Minnesota and the Institute for Mathematics and its Applications offers a collection of graphical demonstrations for first year calculus.

Harvey Mudd College Mathematics Online Tutorials

This Harvey Mudd College site contains over 40 tutorials that cover methods and theorems in precalculus, single and multi-variable calculus, linear algebra, and differential equations. Quizzes at the end of each tutorial are only accessible to registered students.

Internet Mathematician

Internet Mathematician contains a series of tutorials on finding, searching, evaluating ,and using the Internet for mathematics research. There are also numerous quizzes, and a "links basket" to collect important Web sites to revisit.

Khan Academy:  Mathematics

Among the thousands of educational videos in the Khan Academy are videos dealing with mathematics subjects like Calculus, Linear Algebra, Probability, Statistics, and Differential Equations.

The KnotPlot Site

This site contains an extensive collection images and information about knots. Most of the images were created with KnotPlot, a software program that's freely available to download from this Website.

Linear Algebra Toolkit

Developed at Old Dominion University, the Linear Algebra Toolkit is designed to help a students learn and practice a basic linear algebra procedure. It consists of several modules that are interactive and allows the user to input custom values and parameters.

Mathematical Moments

An AMS site containing illustrated articles designed to promote appreciation and understanding of the role mathematics plays in science, nature, technology, and human culture.

Mathematics Animated

Several mathematical concepts, that are difficult to visualize, are demonstrated using animations.

Mathematics Demos

This collection of demonstrations shows concepts by using multi-color animations. It includes contours, Fourier transforms, and convolution, and also demonstrates the dimensions of the spherical coordinate system.

MATLAB Help Desk

This site provides extensive documentation and guides for MATLAB, including manuals that describe everything from basic usage to graphics and built-in toolboxes.

Metamath Proof Explorer

The Proof Explorer has over 6,000 computer-verified proofs, definitions, and axioms in logic and set theory, with a network of interconnected links and cross-references that can be used to track dependencies.

MIT OpenCourseWare: Mathematics

Lecture notes, problem sets, and other course materials are posted on this Massachusetts Institute of Technology Website. Courses are listed by title; both undergraduate and graduate course are covered.

MRSI Online Videos

An archive of online video lectures and workshops, 1993 to present.

Online College Classes:  Mathematics Resources

Online College Classes is a compendium of free educational resources.  The mathematics section provides access to online classes, textbooks & eBooks, research & writing guides, and open courseware.

The Prime Pages: Prime Number Research, Records, and Resources

The Prime Pages focuses on current known information on primes and the determination of primality.

Probability by Surprise

Probability by Suprise presents several applets that demonstrate probability concepts using graphics and animations.

Project Links: Mathematics and its Applications in Engineering and Science

Project Links contains modules to introduce science and technology topics. Each module starts with and builds on basic background information, and includes the underlying mathematics.

Science Documentaries:  Mathematics

Science Documentaries specializes in science and technology documentaries.  Along with Mathematics Documentaries, there are Mathematics Lectures.

SciTalks: Mathematics

Launching with over 1,000 entries, SciTalks is a repository of science lectures and talks from all over the world. The lectures (talks) range in length from brief to lengthy, and from basic or humorous to complex and serious. SciTalks can be browsed by scientific fields, or the entire collection can be searched.

A Short Course in Trigonometry

A Java-enhanced course that simplifies complex concepts & demystifies trigonometry.

Statistics Online Computational Resources (SOCR)

SOCR resources are designed to improve the teaching of college-level statistics and probability courses. Included are a repository of software tools, instructional materials, and online tutorials.

StatPrimer

StatPrimer is a universal statistics manual that applies its examples and data sets to biology.

Video Lectures in Mathematics

Divided into mathematical topics like algebra, analysis, geometry, linear algebra, number theory, and topology, this Pinterest page provides access to numerous mathematics lectures. 

Videolectures.net:  Mathematics

Videolectures.net is a repository for free educational lectures in science, technology, business, arts, education, law, and the humanities. Given by renowned scholars, the lectures are derived from conferences, workshops, summer schools, and other promotional events. The site is  searchable.

Virtual Laboratories in Probability and Statistics

Provides interactive, web-based modules on probability & statistics, emphasizing mathematical analysis, data analysis, & simulation analysis.

Visual Calculus

This site contains tutorials, drills, and computer programs that aid in understanding pre-calculus and calculus.

The Wavelet Tutorial

This tutorial is designed to help those with no prior knowledge of wavelet theory. It includes an overview, fundamentals, and sections on multiresolution analysis.

Web Interface for Statistics Education (WISE)

WISE consists of a set interactive tutorials on important statistical concepts like sampling distribution of the mean, hypothesis testing, and correlation and regression. The tutorials are supported by a collection of dynamic applets. There are also guided exercises to help reinforce important concepts.

WebMath

An online program that instantly solves a wide variety of mathematical problems; it is capable of handling derivatives, trigonometric expressions, and even word problems.

World Lecture Hall

A listing of onlince cources in Mathematics and Statistics. Use the "Browse by Area" feature to find courses.

Subject Guide

Kathleen Flynn's picture
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943