Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Mathematics & Statistics: A Guide to Web Resources: Biography

Biography

Biographies of Women Mathematicians

This site is an on-going project by students in mathematics classes at Agnes Scott College to illustrate the numerous achievements of women in the field of mathematics.

Celebratio Mathematica

Published by Mathematical Sciences Publishers, Celebratio Mathematica is a scholary open access collection that celebrates mathematics and mathematicians.  The growing collection contains information about important scientists and includes biographies, bibliographies, and images. 

Combined Membership List

CML includes the names & addresses of all people who were members of the American Mathematical Society, Mathematical Association of America, Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, or American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges.

Eugene B. Dynkin Collection of Mathematics Interviews

From Cornell University Library, this collection contains digitized audio and video interviews conducted with mathematicians by mathematician Eugene Dynkin.  There are also photos and biographical information of the interviewees.  Most of the interviews are in English, but a few are in Russian.  Some of the Russian interviews have English transcripts.

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive

This site contains the biographies of more than 1,200 mathematicians, articles on the development of mathematical ideas cross-referenced to the biographies, chronologies showing the overlapping lives of the mathematicians in the Archive, and other history of mathematics features.

Mathematicians of the African Diaspora

This Website outlines the contributions of Africans from the ancient inhabitants of central Africa to contemporary scholars.

Mathematicians Throughout the Year

An interactive calendar reveals mathematicians who were born or died on a particular date. Biographical information is furnished for each mathematician along with a bibliography and links to more information.

Mathematics Genealogy Project

The goal of this project is to list all mathematicians who have received a doctorate. For each mathematician the following is displayed: the university which awarded the degree, the year the degree was awarded, the dissertation title, and the name(s) of the advisor(s). The lineage of a mathematician can be traced using the database.  Project director Michael Keller explains the significance of the Mathematics Genealogy Project in this video.

Mathographies

A collection of short biographical sketches of famous mathematicians & people who have contributed to the study of mathematics.

Subject Guide

Kathleen Flynn's picture
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943