Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Physics: A Guide to Web Resources: Courses & Tutorials

Courses, Lectures, Simulations, and Tutorials

Britney's Guide to Semiconductor Physics

Britney's guide provides the fundamentals of several key topics in semiconductor physics including semiconductor junctions; finite barrier quantum-well; density of states; edge-emitting lasers; photonic crystals; crystal growth, fabrication, and processing; and photolithography.

College-Level Astronomy Courses

Links to over 100 different college-level astronomy courses, mostly at the "beginner" level.

edX - Physics
Physics courses offered online, some by Universities such as Harvard and MIT, for a fee.

Electricity and Magnetism

Part of an physics course, there are several animations, simulations, and applications to help students learn electricity and magnetism concepts.

Energy Explained:  Your Guide to Understanding Engergy

From the U.S. Energy Information Administration, Energy Explained provides information about energy, including basic facts and definitions, trends, and policies. Renewable and nonrenewable sources are covered. There are many charts, tables, and graphs, and the site is searchable.

The Expert System for Thermodynamics (TEST)

Covering topics like energy analyses, open processes, and combustions in closed chambers, TEST provides a detailed introduction to thermodynamics. There are numerous challenging problems to help reinforce concepts. TEST is free, but registration is required.

Fear of Physics

Fear of Physics contains a set of interactive animations that demonstrate important basic physics concepts. 

Feynman Lectures

The Feynman Lectures are a series of 7 lectures given by physicist Richard Feynman at Cornell University in 1964. The lectures were part of Cornell's Messenger Lecture Series, and were filmed by the BBC. Microsoft purchased the rights to the lectures from the BBC and has made them freely available. To view the lectures, the Silverlight plug-in is required. For full text or additional information on the Feynman Lectures like stories, exercises & problems, errata, and links to relevant Websites, consult the FeynmanLectures.info Website or the Caltech Feynman Lectures Website.

Hands-on CERN

Located near Geneva, Switzerland, CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research) is the world's largest particle physics laboratory. Hands-on CERN contains a collection of resources explaing the standard model, accelerators, detectors, picture analysis, and particle collisions.

The Interactive Plasma Physics Education Experience (IPPEX)

IPPEX contains several interactive explorations in the area of plasma physics.

International Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors (ITRS)

ITRS was developed through the cooperation of several semiconductor/electronics associations. Its objective is to outline the goals and future advancements for the worldwide semiconductor industry.

Khan Academy:  Physics

Among the thousands of educational videos in the Khan Academy are videos dealing with introductory physics topics like circuits, fluids, magnetism, projectile motion, Newton's laws of motion, and thermodynamics.  There is also a Cosmology and Astronomy section.

Lecture Notes on Surfaces and Thin Films

Hosted by Arizona State University, these are the lecture notes of John Venables that were used in the development of the graduate textbook, Introduction to Surface and Thin Film Processes, Cambridge University Press, 2000.

The Mechanical Universe ... and Beyond

Produced by the California Institute of Technology and Intelecom, and made available by Annenberg Media, The Mechanical Universe ... and Beyond is a collection of 52 half-hour videos covering many important topics in physics. The purpose of the this video series is to help teachers demystify physics using "field trips" and computer graphics to illustrate abstract concepts. Some of the topics covered are falling bodies, vectors, forces, the conservation of energy, resonance, angular momentum, electric circuits, magnetism, Maxwell's equations, optics, Lorentz transformation, entropy, and quantum mechanics. Although access to these videos is free, registration is required.

MIT OpenCourseWare - Physics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology website. Courses are listed by title, and both undergraduate and graduate course are covered.

Optical Microscopy Primer

Developed at Florida State University, this set of tutorials covers microscopy and its related principles. It starts with the basics, but covers several advanced topics.

The Particle Adventure

An interactive tour of the inner workings of the atom; introduces the theory of fundamental particles & forces, explores the experimental evidence & the reasons physicists want to go beyond this theory, provides information on particle decay and a brief history section.

Perspectives on Plasmas

An educational resource containing both basic and advanced information on plasmas. It includes background information, applications, Internet resources, exhibition, and photo gallery.

Physics 24/7

Physics 24/7 contains resources to help students learn physics. It provides access to a glossary that defines and explains important terms; a tutorial that teaches physics concepts by explaining every day events or phenomena; study skill tips; and a collection of self-correcting physics quizzes. Most of the resources on this site are free, however, customized assistance from a physics tutor is fee-based.

The Physics of Baseball

Alan Nathan, the author of this site, includes numerous material from his physics classes at the University of Illinois. He includes lectures, video clips, and links to articles, documents, and other sites on the subject.

Quantum Physics Made Relatively Simple

Using limited mathematics, this series of three lectures, given by Hans Bethe in 1999, focuses on the personal and historical perspectives of one of the principal architects of quantum theory.

Quantum Physics Online

Through a series of animations and simulations, this site presents an introduction to quantum physics. Topics covered are wave mechanics, quantization in one and three dimensions, quantum superposition in one and two dimensions, and spin 1/2.

Relativity Tutorial

This tutorial describes the history and general concepts of relativity. It includes special relativity, radar, time dilation, general relativity, the principle of equivalence, curved spacetime, and how relativity is important to cosmology.

Videolectures.net:  Physics

Videolectures.net is a repository for free educational lectures in science, technology, business, arts, education, law, and the humanities. Given by renowned scholars, the lectures are derived from conferences, workshops, summer schools, and other promotional events. The site is  searchable.

Visual Quantum Mechanics

The goal of this site is to teach quantum mechanics using interactive Shockwave programs for topics like probability, quantum tunneling, wave functions, hydrogen spectroscopy, and energy bands.

The Wavelet Tutorial

This tutorial is designed to help those with no prior knowledge of wavelet theory. It includes an overview, fundamentals, and sections on multiresolution analysis.

World Lecture Hall

A listing of online courses in Physics and Astronomy.

X-Ray Interactions With Matter

From the Center for X-ray Optics at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, this tutorial demonstrates the primary interactions of low-energy X-rays with matter. It includes information and data on electron level widths, electron binding energies, atomic properties, and material properties for the elements.

Subject Guide

Kathleen Flynn's picture
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943