Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Marketing and Advertising: Demographics, Trends, & Statistics

Library Quick Links

Who's Buying Series

Find More "Who's Buying..."

Search the Libraries Catalog
Select "Publisher Keywords" and type New Strategist to find more "Who's Buying..." books.

Goverment Resources

Statistics

The Libraries have a print subscription to the following sets of indices, which can help you indentify sources for statistical information about population and demographics:

  • American Statistics Index (ASI) is a comprehensive guide and index to the statistical publications of the U. S. government.  [ULIB REF HA 195 Z999 A85X]
  • Index to International Statistics (IIS) provides current coverage of statistical publications from all major international intergovernmental organizations (IGOs). [ULIB REF HA 154 I53X]
  • Statistical Reference Index (SRI) provides abstracts and indexing for state, local, and private sector statistical publications.  [ULIB REF HA 195 Z999 S78X]

A variety of online resources are available as well.

New York State

Consumer Survey Databases

The following two databases are available only on the Standalone terminals in the Reference Area.

  • Mediamark Reporter
    Provides information on demographics, lifestyles, product and brand usages, and advertising media preferences reported by a sample of over 25,000 United States consumers. For more information on how to use Mediamark Reporter, see the handout located in the Reference area.

  • Simmons Study of Media and Markets, Choices 3
    Choices 3 is an electronic resource of consumer demographics by product type and product name. It surveys 20,000 households and is typically used in marketing research. Use it to create customized reports that can be cross tabulated for a wide array of demographic and psychographic characteristics of users of products and their media behavior. The most current data on CD-ROM is available for Fall, 2002. Using Simmons Choices III is a tutorial from the University of Tennessee Libraries that explains how to use this database.

Polls