Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Marketing and Advertising: Market Share & Competition

Library Quick Links

Featured Video

Electronic Resources

Please note: databases having the Accessible to University at Albany users only icon  can only be accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower. You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND currently be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage   This database contains the electronic version of several standard business reference tools from Standard & Poors. Contains information on US companies, securities, bonds and mutual funds, as well as the full text of S&P Industry Surveys.  Each report is authored by a Standard & Poor's industry research analyst and includes the following sections: Current Environment, Industry Trends, How the Industry Operates, Key Industry Ratios and Statistics, How to Analyze a Company, Glossary of Industry Terms, Additional Industry Information References and Comparative Company Financial Analysis.  The surveys are organized and defined topically and not by SIC or NAICs code. Surveys can be used to evaluate a company's performance within the industry and to identify competitors.

Business Insights: Essentials  Contains company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research, chronologies and periodicals.  Search for the company name, and look for reports or articles that discuss market share or competitors.  Search industries by SIC or NAICs code. This resource also provides electronic access to The Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries and The Encyclopedia of Global Industries, which have lengthy articles covering specific industries.

Businss Source Complete Business Source Complete provides full text from more than 1,600 scholarly business journals, and indexes over 4,300 titles. Additional full-text non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, country-specific industry reports, market research reports,country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.  After searching for your industry, use the "Source Types" option on the left to limit your results to industry reports, for example.

Reference Sources

Market share reporter. Detroit, MI : Gale Research. REF HF 5410 M35. Extracts market share reports from periodicals and newspapers. The volume is organized by 2-digit SIC code numbers. Entries are indexed by source, place name, product name, service, and company name, and contain a citation to the original publication.

Global market share planner. London : Euromonitor PLC. REF HD 2757.15 G56X 2002. Provides market shares data for 4,500 top companies in key consumer goods markets worldwide.

Subject Guide