Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The legal and regulatory climate in which an industry operates can be very complex. Businesses are subject to federal, state, local and agency laws and regulations. In some cases, a facility's environmental compliance history may be of public record. Some of these sources may help you understand the issues surrounding an industry.
Please note: databases having the Accessible to University at Albany users only icon can only be accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower. You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND currently be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.
Consumer Products Safety Commission
This site lists the CPSC's regulations, laws & information for manufacturers, importers, distributors & retailers, and provides a database of product recalls.
Enforcement & Compliance History Online (ECHO) | U.S. EPA
From the Environmental Protection Agency, use this site to determine if compliance inspections have been conducted by EPA or State/local governments, if violations were detected and if enforcement actions were taken in response to environmental law violations.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Large database containing full text news, business and legal information. Use the "Legal" tab to find the full text of legal cases, look up federal regulations or find review articles. Law reviews are scholarly articles which examine issues in depth, and can sometimes be useful in researching industries
Occupational Safety and Health Administration - OSHA HOME PAGE
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration offers an extensive website with a special section devoted to assisting small business as well as interactive software advisors to help employers understand how to comply with OSHA standards.
RTKNet: The Right-to-Know Network
Provides free access to numerous environmental databases, including the Toxic Release Inventory, a database of information about releases and transfers of toxic chemicals from specific manufacturing facilities.