Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Finding Industry Information: A Research Guide: Industry Overviews

This is a guide to finding information about industries using resources available from the University Libraries.

Library Quick Links

Featured Books

Databases

Please note: databases having the Accessible to University at Albany users only icon  can only be accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower. You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND currently be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.

IBISWorld NAICS Collection  Reports features over 700 reports on U.S. industries and a growing collection of global industry reports. The U.S. reports are written at the 5-digit level of the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Each report of about 25-30 pages uses Michael Porter's "Five Competitive Forces" framework providing data on Key Statistics; Industry Structure with market segmentation, major players, and market share; Industry Analysis of recent conditions and a five-year forecast; and Factors affecting the industry including economic conditions and management actions. Reports are updated up to four times a year depending on the popularity of the industry.

Business Insights: Essentials  Contains company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research, chronologies and periodicals.  Search industries by SIC or NAICs code. This resource also provides electronic access to The Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries and The Encyclopedia of Global Industries, which have lengthy articles covering specific industries.

Business Source Complete Business Source Complete provides full text from more than 1,600 scholarly business journals, and indexes over 4,300 titles. Many journals allow cited reference searching. Additional full-text non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, country-specific industry reports, market research reports,country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.  After searching for your industry, use the "Source Types" option on the left to limit your results to industry reports, for example.

Mergent Intellect/First Research  Access to First Research is via Mergent Intellect. First Research delivers clear, consistent and timely Industry Intelligence via: Over 500 Industry Profiles covering 1000 industry segments; Dynamic fresh News & Social content and daily alerts; Quarterly Industry Alerts; Call Prep Sheets; State Profiles to monitor monthly employment, business and real estate trends in each of the 50 US states.

Print Directories

  • Dun & Bradstreet/Gale Group Industry Handbooks (Ref HG 4501 S75X). These handbooks provide extensive coverage of the following industries: pharmaceutical, chemical, health care, telecommunications, and computers and software.
  • Encyclopedia of American Industries (Ref HC 102 E53). Contains detailed essays on manufacturing and service industries. Arranged by SIC code.
  • Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries (Ref HD 2324 E528). This volume covers industries that are pioneering new technologies, introducing novel marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.
  • Encyclopedia of Global Industries (Ref HD 2324 E53X). Covers the history, development and current status of over one hundred of the world's most profitable and high-profile industries.
  • U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook (J 85 C 61.48). This volume provides an overview of major U.S. industries in a global marketplace. It includes industry reviews, analyses and forecasts taken from government and private-sector sources.

Internet Resources

Subject Guide