Skip to main content
Home

Accounting and Taxation Information: A Research Guide: Financial Information

This guide covers selected resources for researching taxation and accounting available through the University Libraries.

Library Quick Links

Electronic Databases

The databases below are a good place to start when looking for company financial information.  Keep in mind that it is much easier to find detailed financial statements for public companies than for private companies.  Also note that some sources present financial data as they are reported to the Securities and Exchange Commission, while others make adjustments to standardize reporting from one company to another.

Please note: databases having the Accessible to University at Albany users only icon  can only be accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower. You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND currently be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.

 

Mergent Online   Provides comprehensive background and financial information on 15,000 U.S. and 20,000 global companies. Mergent Online corresponds to the print holdings of Mergent's (formerly Moody's) financial publications, and includes online SEC (EDGAR) filings. This resource can be used to generate customized reports, such as company profiles and comparisons, and allows downloading financial and textual data. Company records include information about organizational history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies.  For public companies, start with this database.

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage   This database contains the electronic version of several standard business reference tools from Standard & Poors. Contains information on US companies, securities, bonds and mutual funds, as well as the full text of S&P Industry Surveys.  Provides a rolling seven years of financial information.

LexisNexis Academic  Large database of legal, medical, news and business information.  To research a company, select the "Business" tab.  The "Company Dossier" option can be used to generate a company snapshot.  The "Company Profiles" option will allow you to search a variety of sources at once.  Be sure to check the appropriate options in the source box, particularly if you are searching a private or international company.  Some tables of financial data may be downloaded.  For private companies, this is a good source for locating some financials.

WRDS - Wharton Research Data Services  WRDS provides access to specific databases licensed by the University at Albany, in particular to Compustat North AmericaCompustat Global & EMDB and CRSP, as well as to some additional datasets.  Compustat North America is a database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 30,000 active and inactive public companies.  Compustat Global provides standardized information on over 28,500 companies. The UA subscription does not include all WRDS databases. UAlbany graduate students and faculty can request a WRDS account for remote access, by going to http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu/ and following the instructions. It may also be accessed on-campus through the Libraries.

DataStream International.  This database is available in the Interactive Media Center, in the Lower Level of the University Library.  Access is limited to the University at Albany community.  This resource contains financial information about international companies, as well as coverage of equities, commodity prices, economic indicators, exchange rates and more.  The Lippincott Library at the University of Pennsylvania has created an introductory tutorial on how to use DataStream.

Internet Resources

Subject Guide