Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A patent is a legal asset that gives its owner the right to make, use or sell an invention. By examining the patents assigned to a given company, it is often possible to gain insight into the company's research and product development plans. Patent information can be a valuable tool in performing competitive intelligence. Note that while many freely available sources of patent information are good for identifying particular patents, they are usually inadequate for performing a patentability search for a new invention, which generally requires a professional searcher with access to more specialized tools.
Please note: databases having the icon can only be accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower. You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND currently be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.
United States Patents: New York State Library
The New York State Library is a Patent Depository Library and has a full collection of US Patents and tools necessary to access the patent literature.
USPTO Patent Databases
The USPTO site provides information on how to search US patents, and gives access to a full text database of issued US patents from 1976 and published applications starting in 2001. It also provides useful FAQs about the patent process.
The database contains the full text of issued US patents from the 1700s and patent applications from 2001 to the present. Search by company name in the assignee field.