Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Finding Company Information: A Research Guide: Company Overviews

This guide describes locating company information using resources provided through the University Libraries.

Library Quick Links

Print Directories

  • Directory of Corporate Affiliations (Ref HG 4057 A219XA). Useful for finding parent company and subsidiary information. Covers U.S. and international public and private companies.
  • America’s Corporate Families, the Billion Dollar Directory (Ref HG 4057 A147). Covers 12,000 major U.S. companies and their subsidiaries. Cross-reference index includes international affiliates.
  • Million Dollar Directory: America’s Leading Public & Private Companies (Ready Ref HC 102 D8). Covers 160,000 U.S. public and private companies. Volumes 1-3 list companies in alphabetical order. Volume 4 has listings by SIC code, volume 5 has geographical listings, and volume 6 lists the top 50,000 companies.
  • Ward’s Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies (Ref HG 4057 A2 W365X). Information is arranged alphabetically by company name (volumes 1-3), geographically (volume 4), ranked by sales within SIC code (volume 5) and by state rankings by sales within SIC code (volumes 6 and 7). Volume 4 also contains several lists of rankings and analysis.

Databases

Please note: databases having the Accessible to University at Albany users only icon  can only be accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower. You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND currently be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.

Business Insights: Essentials   This database is a good starting place for researching companies.  It contains brief company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodical articles.

Mergent Online   Provides comprehensive background and financial information on 15,000 U.S. and 20,000 global companies. Mergent Online corresponds to the print holdings of Mergent's (formerly Moody's) financial publications, and includes online SEC (EDGAR) filings. This resource can be used to generate customized reports, such as company profiles and comparisons, and allows downloading financial and textual data. Company records include information about organizational history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies.

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage   This database contains the electronic version of several standard business reference tools from Standard & Poors. Contains information on US companies, securities, bonds and mutual funds, as well as the full text of S&P Industry Surveys.

LexisNexis Academic  Large database of legal, medical, news and business information.  To research a company, select the "Business" tab.  The "Company Dossier" option can be used to generate a company snapshot.  The "Company Profiles" option will allow you to search a variety of sources at once.  Be sure to check the appropriate options in the source box, particularly if you are searching a private or international company.

WRDS - Wharton Research Data Services  WRDS provides access to specific databases licensed by the University at Albany, in particular to Compustat North AmericaCompustat Global & EMDB and CRSP, as well as to some additional datasets.  Compustat North America is a database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 30,000 active and inactive public companies.  Compustat Global provides standardized information on over 28,500 companies. The UA subscription does not include all WRDS databases. UAlbany graduate students and faculty can request a WRDS account for remote access, by going to http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu/ and following the instructions. It may also be accessed on-campus through the Libraries.

Internet Resources

Subject Guide